App with blank screen - CocoonJS

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:21 pm

I created a simple game of logical sequence (no behaviors) and performed all the procedures to create applications for Android and IPhone through CocoonJS. Then I installed the file in Samsung with Android 2.3 and when I went to play, only able to hear the background music. The screen is dark. I had tested before through the launcher, and it happened the same things but the game screen appeared a few times. In this case, when the level changed, the background music is that disappeared, leaving only the sound effects. I'm trying to get support with Ludei, including to another problem I'm also having with another application, but I have urgency to fix this because it is a demonstration for a company. Thank you.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:59 pm

Did you look in the debug console? Were there any messages or errors?
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:24 pm

Hi @Ashley.

No errors and no messages. The game is still running. I know this because besides listen to the soundtrack, I also hear the sound effect when you touch the screen and interact with the cards.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:27 am

Maybe try turning the WebGL setting on or off? It's hard to say - it sounds like a problem with CocoonJS, so I think you'll have to talk to Ludei about it.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:30 am

Well, after reading several threads and make many tests, I decided to disable WebGL and finally could see my game on mobile. I found this very strange and I wonder if anyone has any plausible explanation. I noticed glitches in the background music. I decided to check the console and found only a warning: Not found getElementById: c2canvasdiv.

Note: I said I had not used behaviors, but actually I used a: LiteTween. I would remove it when I had the idea to turn off WebGL.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:04 pm

@Ashley

Coincidentally we thought the same thing. I just read your message now. I have sent 03 emails to Ludei since yesterday, and I got no response so far. Besides the problem with the physics behavior (http://www.scirra.com/forum/low-fps-in-cocoon-launcher_topic78756.html?KW =) and the issue of having to turn off the WebGL, which I believe to be essential, I also questioned the reason for the application to be three times larger than the original. Do you know why?
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:53 pm

Ludei told me the file size was because that's the smallest they could make their cocoonjs wrapper (think of it as a browser specifically for your html5 game). When i asked them about it they were quite robust in their defence of the file size to me and, as I'm not a code writer, I have to bow to their expertise.

There is a folder in the apk you can delete if you're not targeting sub-arm7 platforms (i think - found the tip on another thread, use 7zip or equivalent) - I can't remember what it's called as I'm away from my computer but it's pretty obvious and should save you some memory.


Edited for spolling....Colludium2013-10-30 17:09:21
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
69
Posts: 2,215
Reputation: 43,852

Post » Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:14 pm

@Colludium: Thanks for the info. I'll check it.RenatoB2013-10-30 17:12:26
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:24 am

@RenatoB I usualy remove one of the 2 files armeabi and armeabiv7a and make 2 version of the same game. For that you need to decompile the apk, delete one of the armeabi library, recompile, sign, zipalign(make sure in manifext.xml you have a bigger version for armeabi-v7a apk EX: app_with_armeabi.apk put code version 11, and for app_with_armeabi-v7a.apk put version 12 in the manifest)If a device is supporting armeabi v7a it will download the upper version if not it will download the old armeabi. In Google Play console make sure to switch to advanced mode when uploading the apk file.
Cipriux2013-11-01 10:25:45
B
79
S
21
G
23
Posts: 513
Reputation: 18,648

Post » Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:48 am

@Cipriux - that's the detail I couldn't remember; thanks for clarifying it!

Bookmarked...
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
69
Posts: 2,215
Reputation: 43,852

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests