[APPLI] Map Array Editor for Top-Down tiled RPG

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:31 am

A pretty newbish question, but I don't see any button anywhere or option in the array paste thing to load or add the .map file.

So, how do I do that?




I love the map editor, though. It's functional and works well, and would make making a tile-based RPG a whole lot easier than CTRL-clicking the tiles you wanted (at least for a guy like me who knows nothing about arrays etc).
Check out my VGM on my soundcloud page!
Video-Game Music: E.C.2151
B
7
S
2
G
2
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,561

Post » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:18 pm

[quote="Emperor Ing":16qwuu1x]A pretty newbish question, but I don't see any button anywhere or option in the array paste thing to load or add the .map file.

So, how do I do that?
[/quote:16qwuu1x]

You have an action for array to load it from file (see my .cap thing the event on LoadFile button clicked).

To explain more precisely how to load a map from those kind of file :

1. Declare an array and set his size according to the one stored in the file
2. Use action Array.LoadFile (or something like that, i'm not at home so i can't look in construct).
3. Read the array with a for each element loop for example and replace each value of the array by a sprite or a box or what you want.

In a multi-map/level project you surely want to have more than one map file. So to make it a little more dynamic you should create kind of global hash table or ini file that will store the "meta" information for each map :
- Map1 -> Name = "Bidule" (yes i'm french), width = 2345, Height = 876, mapFile = "bidule.map"
- Map2 -> Name = "City Of The Death", width = 5433, Height = 4567, mapFile = "deathcity.map"

So with this information, when you control where your character go you can retrieve all the information needed to load the map using the same layout (so once this "engine" is done if you want to add new map or level you just have to add a line in the hashtable or ini file and create the corresponding map file). I wish i'm clear as i'm not an expert in english language ;).
B
4
G
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 564

Post » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:26 pm

Hi, I know It has been a year, but there may be people who also interested like me about this topic.

First of all I'd like to thank you for this nice example. Than I'd like to ask a question. What if I have 32*32 but also double sized 64*64 (tree)objects. What should I do than ? Do I have to split my sprite to 4 pieces ? But what if another player wants to use this map editor. Is there anyway , if I choose 64*64 object from editor, turn tiles to 64*64 , than if I choose 32 again, turn back to 32 tiles.. If I did it on map editor as theory. What should I do on save and load ?

Thank you
B
7
S
1
G
1
Posts: 76
Reputation: 904

Previous

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest