AppMobi Barcode Scanner Not Functional?

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 3:34 am

I attempted to implement the AppMobi bardcode scanner in an application. When a button is pushed the scanner is supposed to appear and upon success feed the data to a variable and/or text box. So far the scanner comes up and does appear to scan the barcode. It then returns to the app but no data is collected. I'm not even sure if the "On barcode scanned" function is successful. If it IS successful, I'm also not sure how to get the data from the scan. Has anyone used this feature successfully? Any tips or a demo would be very helpful. Thank you.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 858

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 12:06 pm

Are you exporting with directCanvas enabled? Some features like this one don't currently work in directCanvas mode.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sat May 19, 2012 5:43 am

No, I selected the browser mode. If anyone has a working example or is able to create a basic one I would be appreciative.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 858

Post » Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:08 pm

I know this thread is a few months old but Im having the exact same problem with r99.



thats the exact event sheet thats all the program does. I export as appmobi without direct canvas and install on my 2.3.4 android phone run the app and click the button the scanner opens I scan a barcode and its like the app just restarts it flashes for a sec and then the text is never changed from the default value
B
13
S
5
G
2
Posts: 306
Reputation: 3,262

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:48 pm

bump! No one knows?! I also tried without minifying the script on export and it didnt help either
B
13
S
5
G
2
Posts: 306
Reputation: 3,262

Post » Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:10 pm


I'm new to the forum but am trying to create my first app with the app mobi barcode scanner. I am running into the same issue above.

Doesn't look like the "On barcode scanned" event is getting activated so I can't pull the barcode data.

I can't find any other posts about it. Did anybody get this resolved? Is there a work around?
B
10
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 1,395

Post » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:59 pm

@BreadCrowns - have you tried the latest beta release?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:50 am

@Ashley - Just downloaded r116 and am having the same issue.

I'm exporting to an Android (GS3).
When I test it with an HTML5 app it launches the barcode scanner but doesn't trigger the "On barcode scanned" event.

I also tried building a native Android app through App Mobi to try something different but it actually crashes when I try to initiate the scanner.

So no luck either way.
B
10
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 1,395

Post » Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:31 pm

Same here.

r117
PhoneBrowser mode
Android Galaxy S2

I can see the scanner and can complete the scan,
but no data recieved.

My capx:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/49730415/AppmobiBarcode.capx

I'll try iOS tomorrow.
B
106
S
27
G
8
Posts: 209
Reputation: 12,525

Post » Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:49 am

Same result on iPad3

r117
PhoneBrowser mode
iPad3

Initiate scanner?OK
Complete scanning?OK
Barcode data?Not recieved.

Same capx as above.
B
106
S
27
G
8
Posts: 209
Reputation: 12,525

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest