AppMobi or PhoneGap ?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:40 pm

I tried downloading the non-google chrome version - that was what gave me the error...
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:14 pm

Thank you @All for your suggestions
[quote]if you do a fullscreen in crop mode[/quote]

Unfortunately no.
I think my screensize is wrong (480X320), then I'm try it on iphone 4.
I throught, after read the tutorials, that fullscreen scale mode do fit the size automatically for all devices.
B
21
S
5
G
5
Posts: 163
Reputation: 5,028

Post » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:28 pm

Yes its wrong. IPhone 4 has a retina display.

The correct screen resolution for the iphone 4, 4s is: 960x640; With a DPI of 326
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:34 am

[QUOTE=smitchell] Yes its wrong. IPhone 4 has a retina display.

The correct screen resolution for the iphone 4, 4s is: 960x640; With a DPI of 326 [/QUOTE]

Actually I want a propper screen for all device not only for my phone

After reading this tutorial again, It is not really clear for me , how I do a multiple iphone/pad device support?

A Iphone 3 is 480x320 and many games on the market was designet before come out iphone 4 and works now on a iphone 4 too.

I think the suggestion to use fullscreen scale mode seem not really to work for all device?

How is the basic solution ?
B
21
S
5
G
5
Posts: 163
Reputation: 5,028

Post » Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:45 pm

btw. When I preview construct via Lan on my phone it looks perfect.

When I try with Appmobi it do not work, because it do not changes the screensize to 480 in landscape. Why?
Maybe a error through appmobi ? or I'm missing a option setting.

I have phoneGrap not tested yet , but in the export menue I can choose portrait or landscape.   

Here my iphonescreen in landscape, remains at 320



B
21
S
5
G
5
Posts: 163
Reputation: 5,028

Post » Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:55 pm

Hello vidi

The reason it looks perfect when you preview in LAN is because your game is not packaged yet, and it is running directly off of C2 in your devices browser. It is like having a personal server for your device so what you see on your computer you will see on your device. This is also why sound works so well when previewing in LAN.

I think you will end up with the same result with phonegap as your getting with appMobi except you wont have sound.

It is strange though how your game seems to repeat itself like that. Most people just get a white, or blank edge to the right side of there games.

The only way I have found to fix this so far is to build your game to the exact screen size of each device. I know a lot of work but if you made a game like the ghost shooter game where your game is very large, and you didn't need a certain playing area to always be visible you wouldn't have this problem. I could be wrong on all of this but if there is another way no one is sharing there secret.

Here is a post I made when I was trying to figure this all out maybe it will help:

http://www.scirra.com/forum/who-check-my-game-on-mobile_topic47697_post300583.html?KW=#300583
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:19 pm

probable reason why it's looking like that is that the clear background is set to on in project properties, try setting it to off.
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:02 pm

@vidi, does it look like that on startup, or does it only occur when you change orientation (rotate the device)? It's surprisingly difficult to get the size of the display when the orientation changes, so that bug looks like it's to do with Construct 2 not working out the size of the display properly.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:26 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] @vidi, does it look like that on startup, or does it only occur when you change orientation (rotate the device)? [/QUOTE]
startup it is automatically portrait and looks, see the picture

Also I add here a screen, to show how it look good with construct lan preview

B
21
S
5
G
5
Posts: 163
Reputation: 5,028

Post » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:35 pm

honestly I cannot tell the difference. Do you understand that no matter what screen size you use in C2, and if you set it to fullscreen, AppMobi still scale it to about 60% of its original size. So unless you have a High DPI then things wont look as good.

Couple of questions that I think are the problem.

In C2 what window size are you using?

In AppMobi, what device are you testing on?

What DPI are your graphics?

If you can answer those then I think I can help
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gianmichele, WhosWho and 6 guests