arcade architecture

If you have found a bug, or have a suggestion/comment then leave it here

Post » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:44 pm

Hi,

I'm using construct for a long time but haven"t published anything on the arcade. As a programmer I also wonder what is the architecture behind the arcade.

Do you store all the games on own servers or external solutions? How do you manage the data (MySQL or directly filesystem for the games), what prog. language, server backend and so on.

I think it would be interesting to a lot of people to know how do you handle all it, because I think the traffic and data amount must be quite large.

Thank You!
B
1
Posts: 2
Reputation: 229

Post » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:17 pm

No reply yet.

Sorry if I'm in the wrong forum, I'm new here, so not sure where to post.
Mods can move the thread into appropriate areas.
B
1
Posts: 2
Reputation: 229

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:28 pm

There are only two people on the Scirra team, so my bet would be they just missed this thread. If you have specific questions, an email is less likely to be overlooked.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:29 pm

Hello!

Do you store all the games on own servers or external solutions?
We have 1 dedicated server in USA that serves all content on this website. We've had no issues with bandwidth and we utilise HTML5's appcache heavily for arcade games.

How do you manage the data (MySQL or directly filesystem for the games), what prog. language, server backend and so on.
The arcade is written in ASP.net (c#). All data (the actual games) are stored in the file system. The database we use is MS-SQL.

It's quite a simple setup. There's no reason it could not easily also be done in PHP with MySQL, I just went ASP.net c# Ms-SQL as it's what I'm most familiar with.Tom2013-01-05 13:30:17
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
125
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,922


Return to Website Issues and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests