Are there any performance gotchas?

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Firebase: Analytics, Dynamic Links, Remote Config, Performance, Crashlytics on Android, iOS & Web Browser
  • I've been using C2 for a few weeks now, trying to get a feel for if I could use it to make hobby games in my spare time.

I've always found it fairly slow and jerky on my slightly old laptop. But now my test game has slowed down to unplayable.

I'm an experienced game developer so I'm confident that I'm not making any obvious mistakes and that my data is all tidy etc.

So the question is - what are the performance gotchas. Is it the number of sprites, size of sprites, number/complexity of physics objects, number of layers, event sheets, collision types, paralax scrolling.

Of course the answer is that it's all of these things but are there any that are a particular problem, that maybe you wouldn't think of.

What would be cool is some sort of profiler - but I imagine that's a way away, even if possible at all.

• Have you read the performance tips manual entry?

• Yes, I have read it, thanks. I'll go back and have another look at it though. My hunch is that the main problem I'm having is not getting WebGL to work.

However, even on a slow computer I've had a noticeable further slowdown though.

I guess I can track the slowdown to one or more of a number of recent changes:

* Adding a small number of large sprites (300*300 say)

* With fairly large amounts of transparency (is overdraw an issue?)

* Significantly increasing VRAM (would this affect performance)

* Creating additional layers.

• It's hard to help without being able to see a .capx that is slow.

• dl.dropbox.com/u/104684620/test.capx

It's layout3 that I'm concerned with.

L/R on arrow keys. Jump on space.

• hmm I am running construct right now on a 300 dollar piece of crap walmart special laptop myself (so I dont have to move my desktop to my standing desk)