arrow key menu

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:02 am

how can i achive a main menu that can be navigated through via the arrow key UP and DOWN . also the colors have to change but thats easy .
I only need to know how to do the selection and on hitting enter to start the event thats on the specific button .

Every menu item have to be a label NOT a button :D
B
27
S
7
G
3
Posts: 300
Reputation: 4,563

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:32 am

You could give all the menu items a boolean variable "selected" and on arrow keys pushed switch the booleans.
then on enter touched if boolean is true go to whatever?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:50 am

[QUOTE=LittleStain] You could give all the menu items a boolean variable "selected" and on arrow keys pushed switch the booleans.
then on enter touched if boolean is true go to whatever?[/QUOTE]
so you mean not global variables you mean object specific variables?
:)
B
27
S
7
G
3
Posts: 300
Reputation: 4,563

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:58 am

Yep.. I think that's what I said..

You could use a global variable to toggle between the menu items by using it to toggle the boolean variables on and of based on it's value..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:27 am

ok thats what i got but its not working
B
27
S
7
G
3
Posts: 300
Reputation: 4,563

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:03 pm

Since you are not working with instances of the text object but different text objects it might be better to do it this way:



I've also removed your every tick events and only changed things on key pressed.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:16 pm

oh well that seems MUCH more organized thanks ! one question , how to add the conditions DOWN the first one? :D "add sub event?"
B
27
S
7
G
3
Posts: 300
Reputation: 4,563

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:30 pm

All the system compare variables events are subevents, yes..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:32 pm

You could have just tried it.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 788
Reputation: 3,788

Post » Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:02 pm

yeah worked everythings fine thanks to all
B
27
S
7
G
3
Posts: 300
Reputation: 4,563

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dop2000 and 20 guests