Artifact issue with global variable

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:41 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to wrap my head around this problem i have, but cant seem to get a fix. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

So here's the deal. First, download the capx here.

So, its a menu system, which turned out to be rather complicated. I only use variables in order to interact with it. The problem lies in going from the main menu (ID 0), to the options menu (ID 1), then back to the main men. When attempting to go into the options menu once again, it wont work, and the menu ID wont change at all.

The event is:

On space pressed | ---> set MenuSpecify to 1
MenuMainNav = 1 |
MenuSpecify = 0 |

Test for yourself, and observe the issue;
- Start it.
- Go to Options
- Press back
- Attempt to go to options again

Use the arrow keys to navigate, and space to select.

There's probably easier ways to do this, so any feedback is appreciated :)Era2012-09-11 15:42:52
B
34
S
11
G
9
Posts: 189
Reputation: 8,595

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:14 pm

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/34375299/Construct%202/menuIssue.capx

I improved it a bit, but there are still many things to do to make it more smoother, and use less frames :)
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:20 pm

Awesome! Thanks alot :)
B
34
S
11
G
9
Posts: 189
Reputation: 8,595

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:41 pm

@shinkan already ninja'd me, but you needed to set the MenuOptionsNav back to 0 in the Options menu section.
Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
75
S
16
G
12
Posts: 322
Reputation: 11,608

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:59 pm

@Wastrel sorry ;)
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:31 pm

@shinkan, I feel privileged to be part of a community where there's TOO much help (if there is such a thing), rather than not enough. Besides, you did a lot more work than I did. :D
Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
75
S
16
G
12
Posts: 322
Reputation: 11,608

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:02 pm

Heh yeah, this sure is one of the great strenghts of this tool - the community!
B
34
S
11
G
9
Posts: 189
Reputation: 8,595


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, dingalingboy, Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests