ascii?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:23 pm

what type of plugin is for ascii?
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,144

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:08 am

I'm sorry, but what is "ascii" ?
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,019

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:41 am

American Standard Code for Information Interchange (=ASCII) defines 128 characters for encoding text.

And that's why I don't understand the question...
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:58 am

I guess, he mean ASCII graphics
B
2
S
2
G
2
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,366

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:00 am

the text... object.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:33 am

[QUOTE=QuaziGNRLnose] the text... object.[/QUOTE]
Of course! My bad...
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:20 am

AAAAAAAA
A.......A
A.......A

The text object above.
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,144

Post » Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:17 am

[QUOTE=blackstr] AAAAAAAA
A.......A
A.......A

The text object above.[/QUOTE]

Unfortunately there are no special plugins to generate ascii/roguelike games like that. You should be able to make a map of ASCII using the Array object and a Text object though. Use numbers to say what kind of tile is in each cell of the 2D array and then place a corresponding ASCII character.

I don't know how to randomly generate caves, but I might be able to make at least an example of static rooms for you if you'd like.
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:48 pm

thanks anyways
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,144


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests