Assertion Failure and Uncaught TypeError

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue May 28, 2013 3:21 pm

Hi all,

This will be my last post on this subject as I have fixed the problem.

I was never able to find out what the problem was exactly, but by using the method of stripping back the layout and event sheet I was able to take out between 5 and 10 objects at a time meaning I could work fast, but if the problem was removed I could isolate it to those 5 or 10 objects.

Unfortunately, the problem was still there after stripping it all out...

I did not know what to think?

Almost certain that I would have to start from scratch, I started a new project and copy/pasted all the objects from the layout and started with a new event sheet.

AND, it all worked!

I think you can use this method to fix many problems, if you ARE new like me.

B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 804

Post » Tue May 28, 2013 4:11 pm

@Warhorse - if you have an empty project which still exhibits the problem, upload it and link to it so we can take a look.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:44 am

Thanks for the offer, that sounds great, but I must decline on this occasion as I don't have the empty project because I reverted the stripped file back and I did not save it.

I will take a quick look at what I can do now
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 804

Post » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:54 pm

@Ashley

I have uploaded it to Google Docs, let me know if you have any problems accessing it, as it was my first time using it.

Link:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2a29LWb08x5Skt2S0kyUk41MmM/edit

It could help to know that last saturday, the bug (or almost certainly an associated one appeared). Was there an update last friday night?

It was fine on friday when I closed it, but when I opened it the next day, there it was again.

I have included the link to the later empty project here:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2a29LWb08x5bl9ETERNUTl4d0k/edit?usp=sharing

and the object populated version of the same file here:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2a29LWb08x5dXZPWE9LU2lSdkE/edit


I have been previewing it through the local host 50000 and the issue appears 100% of the time, when previewing.

My system info is Samsung
6gb ram
windows 8
I3 2328

And I'm running the 132 stable release of C2

Also, it occurred to me that my success as a developer is somewhat tied to Scirra and as such I should do all I can to help with your bug fixing.

Plus, any bug fixing experience and knowledge gained is its own reward!

lastly,

I would be more than happy to help in a more professional QA and Marketing capacity as part of a Contra scheme in exchange for a personal license?

Who would be the best person to ask about that?

Thank you again and good luck!
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 804

Previous

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest