Assertion failure: Drawing instance on wrong layer

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:21 pm

Assertion failure: Drawing instance on wrong layer

Stack trace:
Error

I get this error message on Node Webkit when trying to use multiplayer to sync the weapons in my game. What does it mean? It is right in one way though, everything is being drawn on the wrong layer in the peer instance of the game compared to the host instance.
B
45
S
13
G
1
Posts: 236
Reputation: 4,010

Post » Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:14 pm

It's probably a bug, please file a report in the Bugs forum following all the guidelines.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,637
Reputation: 196,071

Post » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:39 am

There any way I can fill out a private report and send it to you because our engine is pretty much done and I don't know what's specifically causing the error so I'm gonna have to send you the CAPX somewhat completely.
B
45
S
13
G
1
Posts: 236
Reputation: 4,010

Post » Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:25 pm

No, as per the guidelines we cannot normally accept bug reports for complete projects anyway, since they are nearly impossible to debug. Try to reproduce the problem in a new project, then you can share it and we actually have a chance of being able to fix it.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,637
Reputation: 196,071

Post » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:50 am

@corlenbelspar, I get this error when I experience the bug where objects are created on the next layout: changing-layout-will-create-objects-on-the-next-layout_t121214 (though Ashley still claims it isn't a bug.)

I can't seem to replicate it in my fresh .capx, but I'm guessing it's trying to create an object on a layer that doesn't exist or something?
B
152
S
75
G
21
Posts: 1,795
Reputation: 23,285

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:39 am

Mine is just doing it when the game tries to sync online the game between Chrome and Node Webkit and they are literally drawn on the wrong layer.
B
45
S
13
G
1
Posts: 236
Reputation: 4,010

Post » Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:36 pm

Same thing guys, getting error when i disconnect from server(one layout) and going to menu layout, and then try to connect back to server layout.
Creator of MiniDayZ
B
22
S
2
G
2
Posts: 76
Reputation: 1,860

Post » Mon May 04, 2015 3:55 am

Did anyone here figure this one out? I'm running into the same error. Only it's when I return to a layout with pre-laid out objects.
B
8
S
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 536

Post » Wed May 27, 2015 11:59 pm

I have this problem. It happens randomly
B
10
S
2
Posts: 19
Reputation: 698

Post » Thu May 28, 2015 3:49 am

One way that I found to fix this is to add a variable/boolean which is set to false when the layout is being destroyed. Then, you add a condition to all events that have a "on destroyed" and create action saying that this boolean must be true. This makes it so you can't create objects using that method while the layout is switching.
B
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 177

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests