Audio Import Bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:47 pm

Problem Description
When importing a very small audio file. C2 hangs on the import.

Attach a Capx
capx not needed
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/36234790/dock.wav

Description of Capx
no capx, just the audio file (44.1 16bit mono wav format)

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • open empty project
  • right-click Sound folder to import audio file

Observed Result
indefinitely stays on the Import progress bar

Expected Result
It should give an error if there is a problem with the file.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (NO)
  • FireFox: (NO)
  • Internet Explorer: (NO)

Operating System and Service Pack
Win 8.1

Construct 2 Version ID
r239
B
100
S
33
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,865

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:41 pm

I can confirm this. The import progressbar is full but it doesn't close or give warning that the file is causing problem.
Still, the file is the problem. It can be adjusted though using audio editors like Audacity.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:48 pm

how is the file the problem? Adjusted how? I know it's very short and small. I may want to use or at least try that file. An open-file action should not hang an application. There should be some sort of error checking so I don't have to End Task on C2 and lose unsaved changes.
B
100
S
33
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,865

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:00 pm

jobel wrote:how is the file the problem? Adjusted how? I know it's very short and small. I may want to use or at least try that file. An open-file action should not hang an application. There should be some sort of error checking so I don't have to End Task on C2 and lose unsaved changes.


You are right that there should be checking & warning, i didn't say i disagree.... And what i'm only trying to say is that your file can't be read by C2 for some reason and the only way for you to use it now is by readjusting it using audio editors like Audacity.

Here, i tweaked it for you:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AjcW2ueud6qp1Q-5JGEJcRHu8Acx

C2 should be able read it now.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2016 9:33 pm

chadorireborn wrote:the only way for you to use it now is by readjusting it using audio editors like Audacity.

Here, i tweaked it for you:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AjcW2ueud6qp1Q-5JGEJcRHu8Acx


yeah I'm assuming the problem is because the sound is so short. I can extend it as well. I have a huge sfx library and when I am auditioning sounds, I preview them, then import the ones I want to use. If C2 hangs on those short sounds (that work in preview) then I lose my changes since the last backup or save. Meaning I don't know C2 can't handle the file until it's too late.

btw, you added silence to the beginning of the sound and cut off the end. I would have added silence to the end of it so the timing doesn't change. technically you are adding a delay. just an fyi.

thanks
B
100
S
33
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,865

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:28 pm

Closing as won't fix: the problem is with the AAC encoder we use (which doesn't report an error, it just hangs), which is the one built in to Windows, so really it's a Windows bug. We can't easily change the encoder because AAC is a patent-encumbered format. The workaround is to use your own AAC encoder or extend the audio clip. Sorry, not much else we can do.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,546
Reputation: 195,436

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:02 am

Ashley wrote:Closing as won't fix: the problem is with the AAC encoder we use (which doesn't report an error, it just hangs), which is the one built in to Windows, so really it's a Windows bug. We can't easily change the encoder because AAC is a patent-encumbered format. The workaround is to use your own AAC encoder or extend the audio clip. Sorry, not much else we can do.


is there anyway you can add a cancel button?
B
100
S
33
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,865

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:46 pm

@Ashley at least 3-4 times this has totally burned me where I was actively making many changes then loaded a sound file that hangs and I lose 1+ hours of work.

why not let the user decide it has 'hung' and add a cancel to the import dialogue? maybe this is more of a request/work-around than a bug? but if feels like a bug - not handling an exception (even though the encoder doesn't throw one).

EDIT: sorry don't mean to harp on this.. not that big of a deal really.. just wondering if a cancel button is an easy solution
B
100
S
33
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,865

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2016 6:12 pm

It's not really that easy, audio can sometimes take a long time to encode anyway so you can't reliably detect a hang situation, it transcodes multiple files in parallel, the UI is blocking, etc. It's one of those "sounds easy but is hard" things.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,546
Reputation: 195,436

Post » Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:39 pm

@Ashley
I wish we could drag/drop audio files into the project. That would be so much faster and more convenient when batch installing tons of audio files :).
B
82
S
32
G
7
Posts: 281
Reputation: 10,685


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests