Audio Syncing: a limitation or bug?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:41 pm

@NECROKRIEG I never tested it in Android Chrome, I can't see why it wouldn't work. Does the mute buttons just not work at all or does it mute all the tracks at once? If it's the latter then I'd say that was a limitation in AC as they probably look at all audio as one object, opposed to Chrome which allows C2 to effect an individual piece of audio by it's "tag".
B
98
S
32
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,715

Post » Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:03 pm

jobel wrote:@NECROKRIEG I never tested it in Android Chrome, I can't see why it wouldn't work. Does the mute buttons just not work at all or does it mute all the tracks at once? If it's the latter then I'd say that was a limitation in AC as they probably look at all audio as one object, opposed to Chrome which allows C2 to effect an individual piece of audio by it's "tag".



Hi @jobel. When I un-tick the boxes in Android Chrome it doesn't mute any of the tracks, it doesn't turn off the full track either. However the volume meter does decrease to '-5 0'.

Thanks for the response, I have a feeling that AC sees the track as one instead of multiple layers, I will do some more research to see if it's possible to layer the music in mobile browsers, it might be a limitation.
B
15
S
6
G
3
Posts: 87
Reputation: 4,304

Post » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:07 pm

@NECROKRIEG well there is no full track, it's only individual tracks playing. So if you are hearing all the tracks playing then that part is working.

might be the Button objects or the Timers? does the colored track label get "greyed out" or become slightly opaque?
B
98
S
32
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,715

Post » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:13 pm

also it's important to note that this out of sync issue has not been addressed at all. my bug report to Google was completely pointless and most likely went unheard. I updated the capx to show the times next to the tracks and if you keep listening for > 1:30 you'll actually see them go out of sync.
B
98
S
32
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,715

Post » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:31 pm

@Ashley do you know if this is even on Chrome's radar? I did file a bug report. It's almost a year later and my original question: "limitation or a bug?" still stands.

Is this something we can expect to be made to work or is it simply a limitation that we shouldn't even attempt?
B
98
S
32
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,715

Post » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:48 pm

This thread is nearly a year old and the original .capx is nontrivial. Make a minimal demo in a new project, post it to the bugs forum, and I'll take a closer look.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,600

Post » Sat Feb 28, 2015 3:21 am

@Ashley I just updated the capx earlier today actually. :)

here's a more simplified version without the fades...
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ukscz9b1suka7 ... .capx?dl=0

I know the problem is on the browser end (Chrome & FireFox). I'm just asking if you think they will ever fix it. Or rather, do the "powers that be" understand that there's a problem and what it is? I submitted a bug report to both (Google/Mozilla) almost a year ago, never got any sort of reply. It could simply be a limitation to the browser's audio engine..that's what I'm trying to find out.

The problem happens in Chrome and Firefox. It technically doesn't happen in IE, but only because it looks like they don't properly loop tracks, they simply restart them - so it's not at all seamless.

I already understand that starting multiple audio tracks in the same tick could have up to 16ms delay each - that's not a problem. It's the actual looping is where the problem lies. Each loop point creates more and more cumulative delays. If streaming audio could stay in-sync over loop points it would be a huge capability to have for music-based games or games that want to implement adaptive music. @C-7 figured a way to manually resync his audio during game-play in "Courier" so it's not impossible, but it's tricky depending on the music and when it's playing etc...

I'd be happy to fill out a Bug Report and post it to the Bug Thread - but it doesn't seem relevant there since it's not a C2 problem. Let me know.
B
98
S
32
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,715

Post » Sun Oct 11, 2015 3:41 pm

any news on this? im also having problems with audio sync.
Image
B
22
S
5
G
2
Posts: 65
Reputation: 1,724

Post » Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:37 pm

Is it just me, or has this been fixed already!? I made this test and at least on Firefox and on Chrome I have no sync problems!!!
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
69
S
27
G
6
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 10,379

Post » Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:21 pm

@fremachuca no the problem still exists.. I don't think anyone is working on it. I don't think "the powers that be" totally understand why it's necessary. I've stopped pursuing the issue since I view it as a limitation. The browser based audio lib was never meant to have multitrack capabilities - not that it can't, it just wasn't configured that way.

@eli0s you don't have any sync problems because you are loading the music fully into memory. Try streaming it and by the 3rd loop it will be totally out of sync.
B
98
S
32
G
16
Posts: 1,204
Reputation: 16,715

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests