Auto Save Fail

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:06 am

Don't know if this is just me, or if I'm just doing something wrong but my autosaves in Construct have stopped working.

Last time they were working was in r100.

Current version r103.1
Autosave 1 - dropbox\backup1 - every 15 mins
Autosave 2 - dropbox\backup2 - every 30 mins
Autosave 3 - desktop\backup - every 15 mins

Autosave is enabled, I have deleted the file location and readded and relinked Construct to the new file destination and I have tried changing how often it should Autosave.

Construct now only saves an Autosave in these folders when I click the save button.

Am I doing something wrong or is this a problem with Construct?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer.
B
13
S
2
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,244

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:04 pm

I'm using r111 and have the same problem, auto back up does not mean auto save unfortunately, you need to click save frequently. I've lost a few hours work on two occasions now. It's a real shame construct doesn't have an auto save feature like other programming IDEs or a least save the project each time before preview or export.

Come on guys, I'm going to have to keep bugging you until this feature goes in
B
2
Posts: 1
Reputation: 302

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:29 pm

I've developed the habit to save before clicking preview - the buttons are right next to each other ;)

I would agree that autosave would be nice, however.sqiddster2012-12-11 15:29:40
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,390

Post » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:59 pm

Is this fixed? I'm also not seeing autosave working
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:45 pm

The autosave feature is working fine.

I made the mistake of assuming Construct would just save itself upon being opening, this is not the case.

When you save the game for the 1st time (choose the name and location of where to save) Construct will start auto updating.
When you open a project, move an object and save again, this will re-enable all the auto save features.

This is how I've been doing it since I had these issues and my autosaves are now fine
B
13
S
2
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,244

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:11 pm

Construct 2 doesn't autosave at the moment. It only does auto-backups - that's what those "every 15 minutes" options are choosing. You still must press Save, and then if 15 minutes has passed, it will also copy it to the backup location, and so on.
Scirra Founder
B
357
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,228

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:15 pm

@Ashley thanks for clearing that up. Sorry for the bad wording, I meant Auto-Backup not Autosave.
B
13
S
2
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,244

Post » Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:40 pm

Yep , me too , who knew that polar bears and squids were so close :D
B
34
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,564

Post » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:45 pm

autosave is a must... just lost 3 hours of work.. because of a crash (loading a sprite sheet, closing then trying to rename the sprite)
B
51
S
13
G
7
Posts: 929
Reputation: 8,390

Post » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:49 pm

@jobel autosave has been integrated for the last few builds. What version are you using?
Moderator
B
72
S
13
G
11
Posts: 900
Reputation: 11,783

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests