Autotile Example needed.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:09 am

Hi!

Does anyone have a autotile example for me using the behaviour on This Topic.

It would be much appreciated

Kind Regards.
Savvy001
B
58
S
20
G
13
Posts: 775
Reputation: 13,314

Post » Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:46 am

I would imagine a simple set of commands that state :

Right Mouse Button Clicked >>> Spawn Block at Mouse.X, Mouse.Y

I'm on a mac ATM, so sadly can't make you a .capx, but will when I get home, if no-one else has
Using R243 for all examples
B
68
S
20
G
6
Posts: 377
Reputation: 9,670

Post » Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:11 am

Ah, Maybe i was not clear enough.
@emoaeden

"I need this example, for understanding which tile animation setup i need and how the autotile behaviour itself works"

Creating a level editor is no problem.
Thanx!

Kind Regards.
Savvy001Savvy0012013-03-27 02:12:34
B
58
S
20
G
13
Posts: 775
Reputation: 13,314

Post » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 pm

I've been meaning to mess around with auto-tiling in Construct 2, and this gave me an excuse to actually do it. Check it out:

Demo
Annotated Capx

Just like the article you linked to, I'm only setting a tile's frame based on the tiles above, below, and on either side, so some of the corners don't look quite right. The fix is to base the tile's frame on the 8 surrounding tiles, but it would require 256 individual frames (which I didn't feel like making).

Just for fun, I have the TileMap save/load from webstorage.

I hope this helps.
B
55
S
17
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 11,736

Post » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:05 pm

@zatyka

Thank u very much!
I'l check your example when i get home.
Its great to see the scirra community in action.

Kind Regards.
Savvy001
B
58
S
20
G
13
Posts: 775
Reputation: 13,314

Post » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:54 pm

Awesome example @zatyka ! Thanks for sharing!!
B
88
S
25
G
7
Posts: 49
Reputation: 8,745

Post » Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:05 pm

@zatyka I'm going to jump in here and also say thanks for sharing that. Really appreciate it.

I've been thinking about how to do this for a while, and a massive array across the layout makes a lot of sense in terms of figuring out neighbouring blocks.
B
57
S
15
G
11
Posts: 912
Reputation: 12,581

Post » Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:11 am

I'm glad you guys are finding the example useful.    
B
55
S
17
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 11,736


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: christina, Kyatric, omnipaws, oosyrag, ThePlagueDoctor and 10 guests