Awesonium Question

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Dec 16, 2012 10:33 am

Hi, I got a new laptop and it has dual graphics intel integrated and also an nvidia 640m. The laptop switches what graphics processor to use on demand or I can optionally configure specific apps.

When running my game through Chrome and on the dedicated card my game runs smooth. But when I try and run it through Awesonium it looks as if it is not using WebGL and the framerates plummet. This is even after configuring the app to use dedicated graphics. Very strange. Anyone else having this problem?

B
39
S
12
G
8
Posts: 580
Reputation: 7,108

Post » Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:01 pm

I think sometimes laptops switch to Intel graphics when not plugged in?

Also, Awesomium runs worse than chrome -- it is known.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Sun Dec 16, 2012 3:27 pm

Yeah I actually read up some more on this and awesonium seems to write to the CPU and then back to the GPU so because my laptop has a low 1.7ghz CPU it is going to really bottleneck the graphics processing on it.

The laptop runs Skyrim on high settings using dedicated hardware but my little 2D game slogs when using intels integrated graphics. Poor show intel.
B
39
S
12
G
8
Posts: 580
Reputation: 7,108

Post » Sun Dec 16, 2012 3:36 pm

This is why we are excited about Node-Webkit, which is showing performance identical to chrome, perfect fullscreen, and export to windows, mac, and linux already!
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sun Dec 16, 2012 3:37 pm

oh wow not heard of that sounds brilliant.
B
39
S
12
G
8
Posts: 580
Reputation: 7,108

Post » Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:35 pm

Yeah, check out this thread: http://www.scirra.com/forum/topic60633.html

Apparently Scirra are working on official integration ASAP.sqiddster2012-12-16 17:36:47
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Avengium, DonpatchXD, MadSpy, Prominent and 17 guests