Babylon3D: Standard Edition

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:10 pm

@fuego96 Yep there will be a solid particle system which for making rain drops and such things that should bounce of a surface.
Here is a vide showing how you can clone a mesh in 0.5 :


http://sendvid.com/xefvxtkh
Banned User
B
17
S
7
G
23
Posts: 388
Reputation: 13,964

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:16 pm

X3M wrote:Here is a vide showing how you can clone a mesh in 0.5...


Ah, I should known that the MeshArray object is just a data model. I incorrectly assumed it worked exclusively with the previous Mesh object. Doh!

X3M wrote:Yep there will be a solid particle system which for making rain drops and such things that should bounce of a surface.


No no, it's not the particle i'm after, it's the surface. Currently collision surfaces are just Box and Sphere (correct me if I'm wrong). But an umbrella model or a Volkswagen Beetle chassis (for example) is neither.

It would be important to have mesh collider types. So, the question is (again):

Would there be any chance of supporting MESH collider types in the future?
Last edited by fuego96 on Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I don't need a better iPhone, I need to be better.
B
22
S
9
G
20
Posts: 67
Reputation: 11,711

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:22 pm

Infact all the SLE plugins are data models used mainly when you load an external scene, you tell them to go fetch this or that instance that is located in the 3D scene, but they can also be used to make them hold new instances when making a scene solely in C2.

Edit: Yes there will be a convex mesh collider but only for CannonJS, OimoJS does not support such things.

This type : http://schteppe.github.io/cannon.js/demos/trimesh.html
And this type : http://schteppe.github.io/cannon.js/demos/bunny.html

But as I told you before, the Mesh option which is in the Physics behavior actually works if you are colliding a sphere with a complex mesh.
In fact if you happen to use the Mesh collider, you will notice a warning in the console sent by the library : "MeshImpostor only collides against spheres."
Last edited by X3M on Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Banned User
B
17
S
7
G
23
Posts: 388
Reputation: 13,964

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:24 pm

Message: fuego96 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 2 URLS modified. Why?
X3M wrote:Edit: Yes there will be a convex mesh collider but only for CannonJS, OimoJS does not support such things.


Well okay. Roger that.

X3M wrote:This type : http://schteppe.github.io/cannon.js/demos/trimesh.html
And this type : http://schteppe.github.io/cannon.js/demos/bunny.html


Nice. Must try this on my umbrella.

X3M wrote:But as I told you before, the Mesh option which is in the Physics behavior actually works if you are colliding a sphere with a complex mesh.


Will remember that from now on. Fair enough. Actually no, not fair as my raindrops were supposed to be "jacks". But still better than nothing :)
Last edited by fuego96 on Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I don't need a better iPhone, I need to be better.
B
22
S
9
G
20
Posts: 67
Reputation: 11,711

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:28 pm

Isn't this much better for your umbrella demo : http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#29F0EG
Doesn't use much CPU
Banned User
B
17
S
7
G
23
Posts: 388
Reputation: 13,964

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:00 pm

Message: fuego96 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
X3M wrote:Isn't this much better for your umbrella demo : http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#29F0EG
Doesn't use much CPU


It's alright for other cases that simulate water contacting a sphere.
But I'm looking to bounce (rigid body) jacks (box collider) off of a curved umbrella surface. The keyword here is "bounce".

The above, while good and CPU friendly, has particles just colliding (no bounces) and vertically sliding downward. But this demo could come in handy for (simple) rocket exhaust animations.
I don't need a better iPhone, I need to be better.
B
22
S
9
G
20
Posts: 67
Reputation: 11,711

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:37 pm

@X3M About the create objects my question was if when in events we clone a mesh in the render, Babylon3D also creates their Mesh.Object to be linked and use C2 native functions but seems is not.

I think at the end i will continue my method i started in 0.2 to use mesh.objects in the same way we use sprite.objects, but using events to link/represent sprites-mesh without set name, mesh arrays and all this stuff.

But first i'm going try to hack in some way the actual NewMesh to do the same.
B
23
S
10
G
3
Posts: 538
Reputation: 4,426

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 6:18 pm

Message: fuego96 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
My first upload to Scirra Arcade and it's not a real game. Would that get me into trouble?
https://www.scirra.com/arcade/other-games/b3d-umbrella-physics-demo-13396

@X3M Umbrella... maybe I should put in Rhianna's song. Thanks for the previous physics tips!
Last edited by fuego96 on Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
I don't need a better iPhone, I need to be better.
B
22
S
9
G
20
Posts: 67
Reputation: 11,711

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 6:43 pm

Hey @fuego96 great demo! Used some 3D editor? In that case what you use?

-----------------------------------------------------

Well, Seems i get something, is a "dirty trick" but works XD.

No Mesh Array, No loopindex expresions, No duplicate events or other stuff.

With a single event working on a family you can add whatever mesh object to set an action without worry about nothing more. (This trick only works with NewMesh objects created in C2 layout)

Here the video: http://sendvid.com/fogkh5nx

The unique thing still i can't get is avoid the mesh naming in the properties. Still i have to put Coin1, Coin2,etc....

@X3M Is possible that Babylon3D on runtime automatically fill the Mesh name in the render? Something like:
NewMesh.Name+UID
(Or whatever that gives an unique name for that mesh)

So with that totally C2 workflow, you duplicate objects in the C2 layout without worry about mesh naming and apply actions to different objects in a single clean event.
Last edited by matriax on Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
23
S
10
G
3
Posts: 538
Reputation: 4,426

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 6:47 pm

matriax wrote:Hey @fuego96 great demo! Used some 3D editor? In that case what you use?


Greetings matriax. I use Blender 3D.
I don't need a better iPhone, I need to be better.
B
22
S
9
G
20
Posts: 67
Reputation: 11,711

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest