background image not showing on 32 bit Windows or Mac

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:23 pm

I have a game that has a background scrolling image that is 5400 x 400
The image slide to different places depending on a click event.

On 32 bit windows system the image does not show at all.
On Mac does not show
On Windows 64 bit systems show without any problem.

Is this a bug?

Is there a way to make it show?

Does the resolution/size have anything to do with it?
B
8
S
1
Posts: 86
Reputation: 618

Post » Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:58 pm

5400x400 is a crazy large image.

most of the mobiles don't support over 1200x1200 size, there is also a limit on 32 and 64 bit operating system's. It seems like you crossed the limit on the 32 and the device does not know how to properly render the images.

Why are you even using such a large image in a first place? You can import a smaller one and just use tiled background to tile it over and over again.
Like my work? Fallow me on social media, and see my games on the arcade.
B
7
S
5
G
9
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,367

Post » Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:09 pm

Thanks for your answer. I have used this size on several other games with no problem. I guess this time it must have to do with the way it is used.
I do educational games.
This game has math questions. The user goes to a random place in a mall. The stage/window is 600 x 400 and the long image has 9 shops (600 x 9 = 5400) . The questions are randomized and the image slides to a different shop/position depending on the question. There is a visual effect seeing the shops slide by in either direction depending on the question. I use liteTween to slide the image.
So I cannot use the tiled background because of it. I guess I could cut the image into 9 pieces and pin them to a container. I'll try that.
There are lots of other things going on too since the user has to choose several things and input text in boxes, etc...
B
8
S
1
Posts: 86
Reputation: 618

Post » Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:33 pm

Yep, that worked! Thanks again for your input. :)
B
8
S
1
Posts: 86
Reputation: 618


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AnD4D, Google [Bot] and 21 guests