Background

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:33 am

I have created character and some platforms for him and now i want to add background. I inserted in the program but now its in front of everything.

How i make it the last image from behind all, do i drag it like the layers in photoshop somehow?
B
6
Posts: 29
Reputation: 408

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:36 am

Add new layer, then move the background into the layer standing behind.

Or simply right-click on the background, Z order, and send to bottom.hylists2012-06-19 04:36:56
B
19
S
5
Posts: 51
Reputation: 1,883

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:38 am

It's in good practice to use layers, especially for backgrounds. You might end up wanting to parallax the background. Can't be done if on same layer as Character sprites.

my layer structure

Gui/Hud
Foreground
Platforms
Entity
Background

Gui is self explanatory

Foreground I use for grass infront of player for example

Platforms is only for (invisible) platforms not the actual drawn platform

Entity is everything else Sprites (Main Layer) Z layer used alot

Background Parallax sense of depth



Erndog2k2012-06-19 04:44:31
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:53 am

the layers worked like a charm.. Thanx :)
B
6
Posts: 29
Reputation: 408

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:54 am

np
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:29 am

and now that we have the topic still active, can anyone tell me how i move forever the background. i managed to start it moving but it only moves the 1 image i inserted, how i make it a infinite loop to play the image all the time?

I did the *every tick* event to make it moving
B
6
Posts: 29
Reputation: 408

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:11 pm

simply Search in the common question (FAQ) @ top of How do I page.

Continuous Scrolling Background

B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:41 pm

ahh thanx :)
B
6
Posts: 29
Reputation: 408

Post » Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:18 pm

In one layer, selec the image with Right clic and go to "Z Order" and select "go to bottom of layer" or "send to top of layer"
B
18
S
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 1,426


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests