Backgrounds

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:41 am

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if it was possible to make a parallax backround but also keep it within my players view.I looked at the basic parallax tutorial and when my player is created in game the parallax gets all compressed and looks funky.
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,368

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:48 am

Hey Rookie,

It is fairly easy to do. What do you mean though when you say compressed and looks funky?
ImageImage
B
96
S
19
G
6
Posts: 1,054
Reputation: 11,457

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:53 am

Well when the player is created on startup the the mountains i have in place fall downwards.They slide behind one another.Its hard to explain because i have never had this issue before,I apollogize for not being as clear as i could of been.Also Thank you for the reply it means alot,I really need all the help i can get.ThanksRookieDev2013-06-08 04:54:12
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,368

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:01 am

Hey no worries mate, I had a humble beginning with this program too. Its really easy to pick up though.

When you save you project as a single file (as a Cap.x) you can then post it on a website like dropbox and it makes it very easy to help. Do that and I will sort you out. GenkiGenga2013-06-08 05:02:42
ImageImage
B
96
S
19
G
6
Posts: 1,054
Reputation: 11,457

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:12 am

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/84580334/The%20Sandbox.capx
Here you go man hopefully this helps out with what i was talking about.Thanks for helping me.
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,368

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:39 am

Nice mountains,

http://db.tt/zWVXCDN6

The main problem you had was that you didn't have the layers with parallax set to "show parallax in editor", if you click on a layer its an option on the left hand side of the screen (just under parallax itself).

I have only set the X axis to scroll, so you will need to play around with the Y value but now that you can see it in the editor it should be much easier. No worries and let me know if you need any more help. ;)GenkiGenga2013-06-08 06:40:05
ImageImage
B
96
S
19
G
6
Posts: 1,054
Reputation: 11,457

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:45 am

Thank You! I love those mountains aswell ;)I owe you a million for this GenkiGenga and if i need help in the future i will come to you.Thank you once again.
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,368

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:49 am

It says you are using a newer version of construct? How do i update? it said nothing about a release
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,368

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:52 am

Ah, you should have an email in your inbox about a newer version (though I seem to get them late a lot of the time as well).

If you scroll to the bottom of the screen you can see "Beta Release r133", hit that and your good to go :) really no worries, I'm glad to help and look forward to seeing your project.
ImageImage
B
96
S
19
G
6
Posts: 1,054
Reputation: 11,457

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:58 am

i just noticed that as soon as i looked away from this post,I had the stable version im downloading the Beta right now.I will be more than happy to keep you updated on this project,Everything is very much appreciated.
GMO FOOD = DEATH
B
23
S
9
G
5
Posts: 567
Reputation: 6,368

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jpstudio, LukeW, tarek2, thatserafimkid and 4 guests