basic level up system(RPG)

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • Hi all, i'm new to construct, but i have used gamemaker and other programs for a couples of years now and understand very well the mecanics behind a game, so as i learn how to use construct, i will makes small tutorials on how to achieve certain things that i found is not very well documented in game development, specially the rpg part, search on google on how to make a rpg...3/4 of the results will be rpg are hard to make blablabla... start by small program... it's true, i do not suggest to start with a rpg with your first game, but the basics of it are very good to learn to understand well how a variable work.

so here it is, my first construct tutorial. first i suggest that you follow the ghost shooter tutorial if you haven't already done so, and maybe keep the project to follow this tutorial if you don't have another project ready.

First you will need to create 3 new variables in your player object, called "lvl" ,"xp","maxXp", leave the lvl and xp to 0, and put 100 into the maxXp(or whatever you want) this is the value to reach to level up.

no go to your event sheet editor, into the event were your enemy dies(destroy) add a new action, select the player object, in private variables, select add value, select xp in the list and put in 10(or whatever you want it to give xp).