Been away for a year, game is broken, needs solution.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:24 pm

I've just updated to the newest version and my game isn't scaling properly. I worked out that variables I was using 'WindowWidth' and 'WindowHeight' appear to be system variables now, so it's renamed them WWidth and WHeight. Problem is, they're all over my code as the original names. I can't work out if the editor has a search and replace thing which will work across all of my layouts. Is there a way I could change every 'WindowWidth' in my code to 'WWidth'?
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:50 pm

Uninstall C2, download and install the older version you used before, rename the variables, save, uninstall and install latest version. Should work...
B
123
S
43
G
41
Posts: 847
Reputation: 28,206

Post » Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:10 am

That sounds like a good idea. Any idea how I could find out when this was added as a system variable so I could find the correct version? I suppose I could just trawl through all the update news.
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633

Post » Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:23 am

Ugh, looks like even my backups and older backups have been saved in version 2.15 at least and aren't working correctly. I might have older backups, so I'll rummage around.

Only other option I think is to manually alter every instance of the variable? There's no search / replace?
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633

Post » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:12 pm

Doing a search and replace in the xml files is probably the easiest way.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:21 pm

Ah thanks, I didn't think of that. Went and did it manually in the end, only took an hour :p
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lukewasthefish and 10 guests