[Behavior] Typing (for text / sprite font plugin)

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:58 pm

Update

- Fix bug in "Expression: TypingIndex"
- Add "Expression: LastTypingCharacter".
Sample capx

@Rory
Try this new version.
B
108
S
26
G
268
Posts: 4,456
Reputation: 150,247

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:08 am

@rexrainbow Thanks for the update man! Didn't expect for you to get to it. You're amazing :)
B
37
S
11
G
6
Posts: 962
Reputation: 11,254

Post » Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:12 am

@rexrainbow
I have a question/request regarding this behavior.

I've seen this discussed elsewhere so you may have already considered this, but would it be possible to implement an option for the typing behavior so that if a word will wrap, it will automatically push the text to the next line before it begins typing that word?

I currently have your TagText, scrolling, and typing text plugins/behaviors all working in tandem flawlessly, but the jump when a word wraps mid-type makes it just shy of perfect in my eyes. I do not know how feasible this is to accomplish, so no worries if it's not in the cards.

Thanks again for the fantastic plugins and support. I would not be using Construct 2 for my current project if not for your hard work.
B
12
S
4
Posts: 48
Reputation: 910

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:12 am

@Valhallen

I had no good idea to solve this issue completely.
Maybe I could add a function to insert "newline" to force wrapping words to next line, but it is not a good solution.
B
108
S
26
G
268
Posts: 4,456
Reputation: 150,247

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:49 pm

@rexrainbow

I figured it had to be something like that, or you would have implemented it already. Thanks again, I appreciate the response!
Last edited by Valhallen on Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
12
S
4
Posts: 48
Reputation: 910

Post » Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:43 pm

@Valhallen

No, I did not implement it before.
B
108
S
26
G
268
Posts: 4,456
Reputation: 150,247

Post » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:51 pm

@rexrainbow

Yes, I understand. Thanks anyway, keep up the great work.
B
12
S
4
Posts: 48
Reputation: 910

Post » Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:44 am

Update

Add property "Line break", which will insert "new line" to split content into lines. It might make typing smoothly.
sample capx

@Valhallen
Try this new version.
B
108
S
26
G
268
Posts: 4,456
Reputation: 150,247

Post » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:47 am

@rexrainbow

Strange, your sample works perfectly fine, but my game crashes when I enable the new property.

Do you know what might cause an error like this?
Image
B
12
S
4
Posts: 48
Reputation: 910

Post » Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:15 am

@Valhallen

Could you provide a sample capx or post the typing string?
B
108
S
26
G
268
Posts: 4,456
Reputation: 150,247

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests