Best behavior for a topdown RPG NPC?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:15 am

So I was messing with different behaviors just to see what they can make 1 of my NPCs do. I ended up combining RTS, Custom Movement and Line of Sight but still has some bugs in terms of acting like an NPC.

My question is which behavior should I use? And how do I make them randomly move around the map?
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:38 am

The answer to this question isn't easy. It hugely depends on what you want your NPC to be able to do. In order to mimic a pseudo-reaistic behavior, where the NPC will randomly move, react to things like monsters or do certain things at day/night time, you'll have to have a very solid concept. And a lot of breath.

Combining stuff like RTS + LOS doesn't sound like a bad idea, although it might be challenging to handle. Again it's hugely depending on what level of detail for your NPC behavior you're trying to achieve.

For starters I'd stick with a rather simple NPC behavior. Sorry that I can't really give a more profound answer to your question.
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:48 am

Well, I guess we can start a random movement, like the npc will move at some point to a random location, and stay there for a bit, then probably move again.

What behaviors would be required for this?
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:57 am

The grid movement behavior set to npc is a pretty good start for this. Its in a grid, so it will give an old school rpg feel to it. Theres a demo of the rts with turret behavior in with the templates. The turret behavior is a little easier to use than line of site, so you might give that a try as well.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:02 am

It would be a start, but the main character in my game moves in RTS movement, which is 8 directional. Would 8 directional behavior work? I'll probably set the controls to none or something so that the player cannot manipulate the NPCs, if any is online right now, go to chat :P
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:04 am

Hey JanMan. Here's the .cap for a little RPG engine I've been working on. It's not brilliant, but it does work (Except for the conversations, but that's just because I haven't bothered working out all the logic, the method is sound).

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1378330/RPG.cap

Its not commented, its pretty rough, but maybe it can help.
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:13 am

Oh since we're in a sharing mood:

[url:3ahyo91b]http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/2306601/inventory_007x3.cap[/url:3ahyo91b]

It's not NPC but still RPG-related. So this might interest some reading this. TheJanMan might already have it though. :wink:
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:21 am

It requires AdvanceCamera.csx, now where do I get that? And yes, I already have that one Pix. Seems to be like Diablo to me lol.
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:33 am

[quote="TheJanMan":35vfl3s6]It requires AdvanceCamera.csx, now where do I get that? And yes, I already have that one Pix. Seems to be like Diablo to me lol.[/quote:35vfl3s6]

You don't know about the wonders of advanced camera plugin yet? :shock:

There you go: [url:35vfl3s6]http://www.scirra.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4687[/url:35vfl3s6]
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:42 am

Ooohhh nice! Thanks. Back to topic, I'm pretty sure it would be laggy if I make my rpg in ONE HUGE LAYOUT and fill it with.... EVERYTHING... How big can a layout be in its size?
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests