Best resolution for desktop

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:17 pm

16:9 aspect ratio is mostly used.

Regarding what resolution you want, it really depends on the game you're making.
Are you concerned about the size of your visual assets and how it will affect your project size?
Do you feature a crisp, hand drawn artwork that will benefit on a higher resolution?KFC2012-09-15 14:20:26
B
33
S
12
G
7
Posts: 227
Reputation: 7,582

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:38 pm

If you use letterbox fullscreen mode, you don't really need to worry about a minimum resolution (it will just scale down), and you only favour one aspect ratio over another (since if the user has a different aspect ratio black bars will appear and it will still play fine). I think in the long term there is a big move from 4:3 to 16:9, so I'd design for 16:9. Of course, the other option is to use just 'Scale' mode and design it to handle different aspect ratios, but that can be tricky.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:44 pm

Thanks, Ashley! I suppose that makes sense. I'm just worried my game will look blocky if I design for 720 and it is played on a 1080 screen.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:11 pm

It's more probable that it will look blurry, but then you can minimize the perception of blurriness by enabling a sharpen filter on the layout when the display resolution is bigger than the original.

I wouldn't recommend going bigger than 720p for the time being, the drop of performance to 1080 is high, and you can use that extra performance to polish better your game and ensure responsive gameplay.
Scirra Employee
B
129
S
45
G
15
Posts: 705
Reputation: 15,413

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:34 pm

I wasn't aware of the performance drop. Why exactly is that? is it because of more objects on the screen or something else?
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:00 pm

Because you would need much bigger graphics to render 1:1 at 1080, and bigger graphics means worse performance.

So I recommend designing your assets to be at maximum 720 at 1:1, and upscaling for bigger resolutions. With the sharpen trick the graphics still looks very good even upscaled.
Scirra Employee
B
129
S
45
G
15
Posts: 705
Reputation: 15,413

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:17 pm

That sharpen trick is interesting. Wouldn't that cause a drop in performance, however?
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:38 pm

Most desktop computers have such powerful GPUs that I'm sure they can render in 1080 just as fast as 720. Games are generally CPU bound, not GPU bound. I'm happy to be proven wrong with benchmarks though!

You might also want to use Point sampling with letterbox integer scale to avoid blurriness.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:14 pm

In my desktop I get a significant difference depending on the size of the images, the size of the canvas, and the size of the browser window.

My PC configuration is:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 GHz
4 GB ram
Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb
Win 7 32 bits

I will try to prepare a benchmark to have quantitative data to analyze, but I already made individual tests that resulted in fps drops related to the factors that I stated above.

Regarding setting 'point sampling' and 'letterbox scale' it works well for pixelated graphics, but for digital painting or vectors the blurriness normally looks better for upscaling than the blocky look. Then a sharpen filter can enhance the acutance in machines that support it.

@sqiddster
Probably there will be a small drop in performance for every effect that you use. I used this trick in CC and I normally got good results.
Scirra Employee
B
129
S
45
G
15
Posts: 705
Reputation: 15,413

Post » Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:22 am

OK, this is all very interesting. I'll have to be more careful with the size of my graphics!

Another very important question: I have an object which contains all of my static scenery objects as different frames in one animation. Does the game load all of these images even if they are not all used in a layout? Is this an issue?
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blackant, newt and 2 guests