Between Angles Detect Touch Bug [C2] Capx attached

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:53 pm

@Ashley

Reposting this here because Ashley closed this immediately.

between-angles-detect-touch-bug-c2_t196912

I don't understand how a founder can be so rude and dismissive about a simple bug or maybe a coding scheme error/imperfection.

I cannot design a simpler capx because this is the control system and things work together, all the conditions have to be tested comprehensively together.

It's really rude to say "I don't feel like going through all your events." And there aren't that many and the problem is isolated to a very small portion.

Still, from coding, I know the whole should be submitted.

But to make this even simpler, because our founder appears to be really overburdened, what appears not to be working is in Line 140.

Basically make ship go down to lower boundary and once at lower screen boundary it won't go right at the default angle of 270, even though it should.

So I don't think 1 bug in a finished game in 4 years is too much to ask for.

P.S. I'm a novice programmer, so the problem maybe in the coding scheme.

-----------------------------
Problem Description
Designed a touch control system for the ship, but it glitches always at boundaries (top and bottom).

Ship has invisible drag controls (L R in pylon area, and F [forward] B [back] located a bit behind the ship.

To see bug, drag ship down with finger (grabbing invisible area behind the ship) all the way past taskbar to hit bottom boundary. Ship will still be at original 270 degree angle (can test this w/ textbox). R control (dragging right pylon w/ touch or mouse click) won't work at this position (the mas lower boundary), even though it should, as the condition includes the 270 degree angle for R (right) control to work and between angles includes the indicated angles per manual.

A similar thing happens when ship hits upper screen boundary. (I have custom boundaries).

In this slimmed down (no sprites, mostly no unnecessary variables) version, ship will also glitch and go past upper boundary, which does not happen in the full version. Not sure what happened.


Attach a Capx
http://www.darksunpictures.com/public/V ... EANING.zip

Description of Capx
touch/mouse click control system for ship object from Dark Sun game

Steps to Reproduce Bug
Step 1 - drag ship down w invisible control behind ship past task bar to hit lower max boundary
Step 2 - drag right pylon to right - WON'T let you even though ship is at 270 degrees; thats the bug
Step 3 etc. - similar thing happens at upper right boundary

Observed Result
____ What happens? ____ its above

Expected Result
____ What do you expect to happen? ____ its above

Affected Browsers
Chrome: (YES)
Edge: Yes
don't think anybody uses anything else

Operating System and Service Pack
____ Your operating system and service pack ____
Windows 10 all packs uptodate, but Windows 7 and others should have the same bug

Construct 2 Version ID
____ Exact version ID of Construct 2 you're using ____

Construct 2 R 245
Image
B
43
S
21
G
18
Posts: 286
Reputation: 13,243

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:10 pm

Your capx link is broken. Fix it, please.
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
22
S
6
G
3
Posts: 722
Reputation: 4,026

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:19 pm

Construct 2 is mature software; we've fixed thousands of bugs over the 6 years it's been released. These days, genuinely over half of all bug reports are just mistakes in events. We can't deal with thousands of reports if we have to sift through hundreds of events every time, so we hold everyone to the bug report requiremenets. It's not just you, we do this routinely. The linked thread explains the rationale in detail.
Scirra Founder
B
415
S
248
G
92
Posts: 25,295
Reputation: 200,984

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:40 pm

The forum software keeps truncating the link.

File name is: VARIABLE_CLEANING.zip

Location is: http://www.darksunpictures.com/public/

So if you combine that and paste in browser, download should begin.
Image
B
43
S
21
G
18
Posts: 286
Reputation: 13,243

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:47 pm

@Ashley

At most 19 events could be taken out of that (F control and L control). You can toggle those groups disabled if it helps. But everything else is necessary to replicate the bug.

Ship orientation is necessary in there, so you can test, that if you change the angle just a bit up, then R control works, but it should work at the default 270 degrees w/ the coding scheme.

But the bug appears also when utilizing the other controls at the upper screen boundary when you flip the ship around.
So drag it up at default 270 degrees. Flip it 180 by touching outside on screen, and then try left right, and again, bug appears.

So I really don't know what you want me to take out of there or if anything can be taken out without testing comprehensively.
Image
B
43
S
21
G
18
Posts: 286
Reputation: 13,243

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:58 pm

Still can't download it...

Image
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
22
S
6
G
3
Posts: 722
Reputation: 4,026

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:25 pm

How about this.

I renamed the file.

Just tested the link.

It works (other one did too unless the server was acting up).

http://www.darksunpictures.com/public/touch_bug.zip
Image
B
43
S
21
G
18
Posts: 286
Reputation: 13,243

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:03 pm

Yeah I've seen your issue. The angle of the ship is 270, not BETWEEN 90 and 270. Not a bug. Change event 140 to 'between 90 and 271' and you'll find it is working. That's how I see it anyway.
B
53
S
21
G
95
Posts: 2,453
Reputation: 56,121

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:06 pm

plinkie, my man, or should I say Ashley in disguise? :p maybe not.

That won't work because it will allow the ship to go off screen.

At 271 degrees at the lower screen edge it tips past the line.

I can upload a degree chart, been looking for the marked up one.
Image
B
43
S
21
G
18
Posts: 286
Reputation: 13,243

Post » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:08 pm

Yeah but you're posting it like it's a bug with Construct 2? You've just limited yourself with your own code mechanic, Ashley isn't going to help with this as though it is an engine bug.
B
53
S
21
G
95
Posts: 2,453
Reputation: 56,121

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests