big/large projects

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:55 pm

Are there right now difficulties or obstacles in using Construct that makes working on big projects (games) difficult or not smooth?

For example: re-creating the SNES version of Zelda, a remake of Larry 1, a Sam & Max adventure, Fallout 2 (didn't play that one) or Sim City.

I think the limit of the size of a game is set by the computer's hardware the game is supposed to work on, or the Construct user.
Correct?

I believe I have read improvements will come in later versions to oversee projects in a better way and that V-ram control will be enhanced, so perhaps this topic is not about these 2 "issues" I already know of.

(using the search-function I found someone saying a tile-editor is missing and: the 2 topics: "Switching from GM - big projects in construct?" and "buG?")
B
16
S
5
G
7
Posts: 599
Reputation: 5,000

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:12 pm

It can be done if you plan carefully.
Making a custom level builder with repeated resources (IE: what most games do)
can go a long way to saving VRAM. even if you have 100 trees, if they are all the same tree they take the same small amount of VRAM as the single tree.

The only hindrance I have come across is the inability to copy/paste code or layouts into another cap :?

Again, careful planning can avoid the problems that come with this.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,612

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:15 pm

[quote="ansmesnobody":3v9e9ulf]
Making a custom level builder with repeated resources (IE: what most games do)[/quote:3v9e9ulf]
Should I create a Construct Application for this? :?:
B
16
S
5
G
7
Posts: 599
Reputation: 5,000

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:28 pm

[quote="rogerty":2g08anws][quote="ansmesnobody":2g08anws]
Making a custom level builder with repeated resources (IE: what most games do)[/quote:2g08anws]
Should I create a Construct Application for this? :?:[/quote:2g08anws]

Probably not. A level builder will require the use of sprites which the application runtime doesn't support.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:38 pm

The only problem I've encountered on my RPG (aside from the vram issue, which is taken care of in the next version) is how long it's starting to take to load/save/run files. I've got about 1/10th of the graphics in for my game, and it's already starting to take a while. Loading/saving/running when it's nearing completion could take minutes.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:51 pm

[quote="rogerty":3i0u0xnt]Should I create a Construct Application for this? :?:[/quote:3i0u0xnt]an easier way is to just use construct's nice layout editor as a level editor, and export the built levels using events. depending on the way you choose to export your levels, you could then load them from files or copy the levels to clipboard & paste them into an appropriate object in your game.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 171
Reputation: 1,792

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:44 pm

[quote="dkdoom":33148x0z][quote="rogerty":33148x0z]Should I create a Construct Application for this? :?:[/quote:33148x0z]an easier way is to just use construct's nice layout editor as a level editor, and export the built levels using events. depending on the way you choose to export your levels, you could then load them from files or copy the levels to clipboard & paste them into an appropriate object in your game.[/quote:33148x0z]


Yep. This is exactly what I'm doing with Vert. I make a level in the Layout, then run the game, hit a button, and it exports the level as an INI file. Then I copy the contents of the file and stick it in a text object in the game. The level loading sequence can use the text object to, well, load the level.

Once you get the level building/loading sequence done it's pretty easy to build levels. It takes a lot more prep work than just making a bunch of layouts for individual levels, but for a larger project it'll save you a lot of hassle in the long run.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:41 pm

I'd really like to see an example of that method you are mentioing..
B
16
S
10
G
5
Posts: 255
Reputation: 3,934

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:30 am

[quote="linkman2004":3mykvmdx][quote="rogerty":3mykvmdx][quote="ansmesnobody":3mykvmdx]
Making a custom level builder with repeated resources (IE: what most games do)[/quote:3mykvmdx]
Should I create a Construct Application for this? :?:[/quote:3mykvmdx]

Probably not. A level builder will require the use of sprites which the application runtime doesn't support.[/quote:3mykvmdx]


I don't think he ment an "Application" in that sense.

[url:3mykvmdx]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Application_software[/url:3mykvmdx]



It would help you if you built it directly into your game so you can hit a button to go into "Developer Mode" to edit a level.

an INI file can be created to save your level (you could also use a list, hash table, etc.)
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,612

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:03 am

[quote="ansmesnobody":uonku4i1]I don't think he ment an "Application" in that sense.[/quote:uonku4i1]

Blah, you are probably right. :P Anyways, the way I save/load my levels is using a list box object. Essentially, each piece has it's own line and the data for each piece is split up like this, separated by commas:

[code:uonku4i1]ObjName, X, Y[/code:uonku4i1]

When I load it up in a list box I can simply use the box's "For each line" action to read through each line and have each piece created by name(ObjName). Of course, if you wanted to add more values for things like width, height, and angle it requires some special object picking to make sure the values are given to the correct object.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest