Bitmap Font Plugin

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:12 am

I've come across this spritefont thing, but I keep reading that it crashes for most people. Then I read about the bitmap font plugin. I can't find that one to download - unless people are refering to spritefont by another name.

Using the search tool and roaming the halls of the plugins section of the forum has turned up nothing. Does any one have this plugin or perhaps knows where it's hidden on the forum?

Thanks in advance!!!
B
2
G
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 482

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:40 am

There's a bitmap font EXAMPLE that I think R0jo made a while back (for CC & C2) and then there's the spritefont plugin. I don't believe a "bitmap font plugin" exists, which is why you couldn't find it.
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 4:52 am

Ok thanks, I was kinda worried that was the case. I'm not doing anything complicated with it anyhow - so holefully there wont be any crashing issues.

Now I just need a handy way to seperate the bitmap into all of the characters seperately!

Thanks!!
B
2
G
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 482

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:14 am

There's my font splitter: http://www.scirra.com/forum/sprite-text-via-events-and-font-splitter-20_topic39752.html?KW=font+splitter

Here's r0j0hound's simple sprite font example with events (the same technique can be used in CC): http://www.scirra.com/forum/suggestionsprite-font_topic44315.html?KW=

It doesn't do word wrapping, though, which can be difficult to code.

My example in the sprite text tools thread has word wrap with events, but it's quite old and complex.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:31 am

Thanks! I was actually in your old thread reading about the splitter when I saw the reply. At least I know I'm on the right track! Thanks for the link, help and app!!

Gonna have to go down to my mac and photoshop the letters into one line. Right now it's a screen grab from mame of the character set. Lots of extra crap in there too. To work I go! Thanks again!!
B
2
G
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 482

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:51 am

This randomly not letting me post thing is annoying. I'm not typing out my message again, lol!

Here's the latest build - same keys as before.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NFPT7UM9

Feedback welcome!!!
B
2
G
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 482


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest