Black screen when exporting to Chrome Web Store

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:57 pm

Problem Description

Black screen when exporting to Chrome Web Store


Attach a Capx

See last post on thread: how-do-i-stop-a-black-screen-showing_t150283

Description of Capx

Does a web game.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
    1 Export to Chrome Web Store in whatever way possibly, e.g. offline or online, minify or no minify
    2 Run game get black screen in Chrome


Observed Result
Black screen upon running game

Expected Result
The game to run fine like it does on all other platforms and when debugging in construct 2

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 8.1, 8 and 7

Construct 2 Version ID
Construct 2 Release 210 as per: https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases/r210





http://filebin.ca/2BCvVpaZ0erF/Drops.capx
Last edited by SomeT on Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:28 pm

There is not a .capx in the last post of the thread you linked to. Please make sure the bug report includes everything necessary to investigate, including a direct link to a .capx.

I tested this with Space Blaster and it ran fine exported as a Chrome Web Store packaged app and loaded from chrome://extensions, so it appears to be working OK.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:58 pm

Added link to file in the above post. I have pretty much given up on this problem, I could not find a solution via the other post I posted. :(
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 1:28 pm

I've found it's because the asm.js build of the Physics behavior uses eval() in a few places. I've no idea why, but this is not allowed on the Chrome Web Store.

I don't know what we could do about this!
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 1:31 pm

First of all many thanks for your response and interest in this matter. It is problematic for me, as I use construct 2 mainly because I do not understand Javascript well enough to code my own games in this sense.

Would the most obvious thing to do, to remove eval() from the asm.js file or is it not that simple? If so why not? (I am asking to learn not to be awkward :) )
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:00 pm

?
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:57 pm

@SomeT The workaround is to use box2dweb instead of asm.js.
B
22
S
9
G
7
Posts: 421
Reputation: 6,543

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 10:35 am

@Sisyphus there is still a black screen when I do this.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:48 am

I just checked in the latest version and still the same problem despite trying all the proposed solutions. @Sisyphus @Ashley
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:02 pm

@SomeT Sorry, i thought only asm.js affected.
B
22
S
9
G
7
Posts: 421
Reputation: 6,543

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Niespor and 0 guests