Blurry layout editor?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:53 am

Forgive me if this has been covered already, but I have a kind of annoying problem that I haven't been able to work out. Basically, all the sprites in my layout editor appear super blurry.



This is at 1:1 scale, for the record.

I'm not sure what causes this or how to fix it - the sprites appear just fine at runtime, as well as in the image editor, but in the layout editor, they all appear blurred out like this.

Is there some way of fixing this, or is this a weird problem specific to my setup somehow?
B
9
S
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 649

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 1:00 pm

Have you tried updating your graphics card driver?
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,420
Reputation: 194,549

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:07 pm

Hear that?
Silence...

Either way, may i ask what's the sampling setting for the project in question? Also, what resolution are the sprites in? Are the resized, by any chance?Stiivais2013-11-30 17:07:28
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:39 pm

Any attempts to update my graphics driver tell me that they're up to date already; I just tried again to no avail. I believe they're up to date.

The project uses point sampling, with sprites at the "pixel art" level of size (the main character is between 32 and 64 pixels tall). The project resolution is 640 by 360. The sprites are displayed at their native resolution and are not resized.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 649

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:05 pm

Let me ask you. this happen too when you create a new project or just the one you are working on? Maybe you have apply a Blur effects on the layout?
B
37
S
7
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,876

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:19 pm

It looks like you are using sprites a few pixels in size and scaling them up to be big rectangles. The editor has always done that when stretching that much.
It doesn't hurt anything it's only in the editor.

I used to scale a single pixel up to color the background before we had that option, and you could barely even see it, it blurred so much. If you need to have more clarity in the editor, use bigger sprites.
B
233
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,398

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:34 pm

[QUOTE=Leandrus] Let me ask you. this happen too when you create a new project or just the one you are working on? Maybe you have apply a Blur effects on the layout?
[/QUOTE]

This happens on all of my projects. There are no effects on the layout at all, otherwise I'd see them at runtime.

[QUOTE=Paradox] It looks like you are using sprites a few pixels in size and scaling them up to be big rectangles. The editor has always done that when stretching that much.
It doesn't hurt anything it's only in the editor.

I used to scale a single pixel up to color the background before we had that option, and you could barely even see it, it blurred so much. If you need to have more clarity in the editor, use bigger sprites.[/QUOTE]

Like I said before, these sprites are displayed at the correct size; they're just blurry. None of the sprites are scaled up.

BattleJenkins2013-11-30 23:36:50
B
9
S
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 649

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:47 pm

Ooh, that is weird. (I had thought you meant the image was not edited for size.)


It still looks like it's reducing to 3 by 6, and then scaling back up.Paradox2013-12-01 00:01:08
B
233
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,398

Post » Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:00 am

If details on my system help, I'm using integrated Intel HD 3000 graphics on a laptop running Windows 8.1.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 28
Reputation: 649

Post » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:46 pm

It still looks very likely like a driver bug. Post a .capx and we can probably verify it displays correctly for everyone else. If that's the case, you'll need to contact Intel about the problem.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,420
Reputation: 194,549

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests