books on procedural generation

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:35 pm

can somebody suggest some beginner books or articles on procedural generation?

lately i was very much intrigued by this concept and wanted to try this in construct, read about two different algorithms(one by chevy-ray and another one midpoint displacement) but couldn't apply them properly.
Any help?

edit: i think I posted this in the wrong section, can any mod please move this thread to open topic
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:19 pm

I adopted a pseudo random number generation algorithm based on a seed from an article I think was from Gamasutra. Its used in Eden's infinite world. I'll try and find the link as it was sent me from another forum member
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:58 pm

experimented some more and was able to make a minecraft2d-ish thing, but still my approach is pretty clumsy. Here is a cap-
[url:b5eb4snc]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5811650/concraft.cap[/url:b5eb4snc]


the concept is pretty simple, generate the next tile depending upon the position of the previous one.
Alter with the values of 'store' var to generate different types of terrain.

right now it's not looking good since i am unable to generate the tiles beneath the grass tiles.
(I tried once but the events for that are toggled off, since it slows down everything)
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:46 pm

Using the Perlin noise plug.

[url:1ror31jj]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/666516/pertilegen.cap[/url:1ror31jj]

Interesting little tip. You can treat the noise just as you would an image.
Ever notice when you scale an image by width, but not height, it stretches the content?

Also added a canvas to deal with the issues of too many sprites.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:46 pm

thanks for the example but could you explain why the first loop runs from 1 to 20 and second loop runs from 3 to 20??

this is the first time i saw that plugin since it's not listed in the completed addons section
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Fri Dec 24, 2010 7:16 pm

Sure.
The loop places tiles in 32 pixel increments, so basically its saying don't start setting any tiles until your at least 3 tile widths down.
Gives you the space to move around in.

They really should move that one to official.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249


Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests