bouncing at angles and unwanted deaths

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:18 am

I'm making a simple platformer, but I'm having difficulty with the enemies, as they are bouncing off walls at an angle, when I only want them travelling on 1 axis. This issue only arises when the enemy travels flush with a wall.

The other problem I'm having is that when the player is in a gap between a wall and an enemy, the player is still dying, despite the width of the gap being the same width as the player.
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 474

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:00 pm

Please post a link to download the capx project and I can help..
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:46 pm

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/87296458/Block%20Game.capx
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 474

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:59 pm

1. I would just set up the enemies so that they start flush with the wall? It's hard to determine how you want the enemies to work as they are just bouncing bullets at the moment. The player can't collide with them so why not just have them always perpendicular to the block above?

2. Which gap are you referring to? If you're referring to the space just after the enemy next to the block, the enemy is still touching the player I think.
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:21 pm

I think I may have fixed it by making the player and enemies 1px shorter and narrower
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 474

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:38 pm

Certainly for the second point that would fix it as the gap was too small and the player was overlapping the enemy..
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 7:58 pm

I wasnt really sure what you wanted, but from what the game looked like, I thought it might be something like this: http://db.tt/51OJsSiw

If it is then I'm glad I could help.
If not, then I'm sorry I misunderstood
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,024

Post » Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:29 pm

@Hoyer nice!
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:23 pm

this is where it's at now, I've put in a little level editor if you click on the arrow on the left of the main game layout. I'm not entirely sure how to use the information in the editor to actually generate a level thoughnoonathon2013-08-14 15:24:15
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 474


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Clark Thy Lord, emilypeltz94, timoteomorelli, totoe and 3 guests