Bug with colors...maybe?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:18 pm

Ok so here's a .capx with the issue. It's very simple.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AveyCUjlTWnXgvUzQDidPWEdrit89w

I'm not entirely sure this is a bug or not so I'm hesitant to post in the bug section til someone more knowledgeable than me has a look at it.

Here's what I did. I created a simple blue square and created a clone of it. On the clone I put a "set color" effect. I copied the RGB values of the original and put them into said set color effect. The point of this is to create two separate squares both with the exact same color value.

Now, since Construct can't ever seem to be consistent in anything it does it uses a 0-100 RGB system...but only when it feels like it. It does so unfortunately with the Set Color effect, So I converted those values using an expression I found on the forums: "valuehere/255*100 in the event sheet. Here's the result.

Image

Two boxes with two entirely different colors despite having the exact same RGB values.

Why is this happening?
B
19
S
7
G
10
Posts: 82
Reputation: 4,996

Post » Sat Jan 21, 2017 11:45 am

Both are exact the same colour on my monitor.

Question. Do you have a colour profile enabled? Or, do you have something like f.lux running ?
https://pcmonitors.info/articles/using- ... in-windows
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:42 pm

99Instances2Go wrote:Both are exact the same colour on my monitor.


Seriously, dude. Get a better monitor. I mean, really :shock:
B
73
S
28
G
32
Posts: 479
Reputation: 19,669

Post » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:22 pm

They are not the same RGB values. On the left it's 67:156:222, on the right 29:160:255.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
21
G
229
Posts: 3,686
Reputation: 128,336

Post » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:23 pm

@Kazan
First of all, it is not a bug - and it is not Construct's fault for being inconsistent. This is an open GL shader that takes RGB values as a percentage (0 - 100%) and uses those to modify the image.

I was able to get much closer to what you want by using the ReplaceColor effect. It takes RGB values (0 - 255) although, if you look at the effect code it then converts the values to a pecentage because that is still what the gl_FragColor function requires. I set the tolerance to 100 and then set the Replace values to 29, 160, 225 and got a blue square that was the same as the original. (I changed the color of Sprite2 to a different color just to make sure it was really doing it). With lower tolerances it was not quite ending up with the same color of blue.
B
95
S
33
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,640

Post » Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:11 pm

Running the provided capx. (gosh why would one do that !). No ICC. profile.
Exactly the same.


Image

Image
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:09 am

Running the capx they are the both same for me. But in the pic you posted above they are different.
...
B
44
S
23
G
7
Posts: 283
Reputation: 7,979

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:51 am

Indeed, running the capx, getting the same color, in the original screenshot posted, the colors are different.
The explanation of AllanR sounds correct.

I don't see how the OP got his screenshot though, other than creating two different objects with different RGB values.

@Eisenhans: Your comment was not useful (as it seems you did not execute the capx). In the future please refrain this type of posts.
Even though 99instances should/could have indicated that the different colors were observed on the capx execution, not on the provided screenshot, your type of comment brings nothing to the topic or the forums.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
288
S
111
G
94
Posts: 7,332
Reputation: 69,160

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:46 am

Well this is odd for sure. I'm not sure how I'm getting a different result when most of you are getting the same color. AllanR got a different result as well though.

@AllanR Thanks for the explanation, that clears it up a bit actually. Maybe I'll just roll with replace color for now using your suggested adjustments.

@99Instances2Go Thanks for checking it out for me. No I'm not running Flux nor do I have any color profiles set up. Honestly, I didn't think my monitor would matter. Does color picking actually go by that? Will I actually get different RGB values depending on my monitor? I always assumed it was sort of..."hard coded" in the software.

My monitor isn't brand new, it is a little on the old side but I didn't think it was so off that I would be getting different RGB values from screenshots. I guess I'll just chalk this up to a monitor issue for now then.

Thanks everyone for testing it out for me.
B
19
S
7
G
10
Posts: 82
Reputation: 4,996

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:49 am

Kyatric wrote:@Eisenhans: Your comment was not useful (as it seems you did not execute the capx). In the future please refrain this type of posts.
Even though 99instances should/could have indicated that the different colors were observed on the capx execution, not on the provided screenshot, your type of comment brings nothing to the topic or the forums.


I did in fact run the capx, this is what came out...

Image

But you may be right about me being on the forums here.
B
73
S
28
G
32
Posts: 479
Reputation: 19,669

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fearfulelephants and 6 guests