Bug with "or" block?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:28 pm

I'm running into this very strange bug. I have an or block with two conditions. With both conditions, it doesn't fire. If I disable a condition, then it does fire properly. I don't understand what's going on and I wasn't able to recreate it using similar objects in a minimalized project for a proper bug report.

Here's the relevant block highlighted: http://i.imgur.com/NfjMJSJ.png

With the second condition disabled and when (pop < poplimit) is true, it fires properly. The or block is to allow repositioning already counted units. The Heroes instanced is picked via the drag/drop action earlier in the block. With both sections of the or block enabled, I can reposition active units (pop < poplimit is false, but Active is true) but trying to add new units fails (poplimit < poplimit is true, but Active is false). Yet, despite the highlighted block not firing, neither does the over pop limit block and the unit ends up staying where it was dropped instead of either snapping to the grid (as expected) or being moved to the unit list (the fallback). I think there's a picking issue going on.
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,044

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:40 pm

I've noticed it as well, looks like it happens when using 2 differenct conditions, 1 with an ihnstance, and the other global, but i may be wrong. I recommend making a proper bug report so @ashley could look into it better.
B
62
S
22
G
4
Posts: 357
Reputation: 6,478

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:54 pm

Here was my attempt to recreate it: http://i.imgur.com/q3GnHgO.png

So long as either condition of the or block was true, the text would change. If I could recreate this bug, I would submit an official report.
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,044

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:32 pm

@Mylon try to have a condition of the text rather than on a sprite to see if that makes it happen, as in your first exemple, one of the conditions and the actions are acting on the same type of object (heroes)
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
52
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,093

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:15 pm

Looks like I got it. In my example, "Is Variable 1 < 1" is true yet the block doesn't fire.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gg3j2vxm6lzvv ... .capx?dl=0
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,044


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests