Button bug-Need fix! (Please read)

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:30 am

Problem Description
Problem? Well Here it is. When you click a button, it glitches my 8-direction object (I will show proof). I have made a shooting game, but whenever I click a button, My shooter charecter Just sticks to the wall and cant release from it. So lets say i was pressing w to go up and i press the button, i am sticked to the top wall and can not do anything for a few seconds. This is very annoying.
Attach a Capx
I cant find the button, so i will use my game as a demonstration. URL: Edit:Not allowed to use my URL? Well... The game is on the Arcade, called shooters vs squares where you will see the bug.
Description of Capx
This capx is an example. Not my game, where the effect is even stronger. Try pressing an moving key and then pressing a button. It will go the direction your key is going and stick to the wall at that side.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
    Step. 1. Add a button.
    Step 2. Add a 8-Direction.
    Step 3. Already explained what to do.


Observed Result
____ What happens? ____

Expected Result
____ What do you expect to happen? ____

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES/NO)
  • FireFox: (YES/NO)
  • Internet Explorer: (YES/NO)

Operating System and Service Pack
____ Windows 8 ____

Construct 2 Version ID
____V206 ____
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:50 am

why using 8-direction for static object?

I'm able to see the teleportation of your sprite but without capx, it's hard to say what is wrong. You could edit your post and put the URL in code or in text.
Image Image
B
25
S
14
G
137
Posts: 876
Reputation: 71,505

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:53 am

1. How to upload file
2. What else can i use except for 8direction?
3. Its not teleportation, it just goes to a corner with the same 8-directions settings uncontrollable


EDIT: you can recreate the bug easily. Just an 8-direction object, a wall for it to stop and not be movable, and a button to press on
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:04 am

a cannon has changed position.. so I thought you add a 8-direction to your turrets and cannons.
you should use a sprite instead of a button to avoid your probleme
Image Image
B
25
S
14
G
137
Posts: 876
Reputation: 71,505

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:09 am

There isnt any condition where you can click a sprite to activate the turret spawning, unless you can tell me how? :)
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:15 am

on mouse left click on sprite"button" & score> cost_turret then system create sprite "turret" & subtract cost_turret from score
Image Image
B
25
S
14
G
137
Posts: 876
Reputation: 71,505

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:20 am

Thank you! :)
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:20 am

This is still a bug tho :3
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:28 am

Form controls like the button take the keyboard input when clicked on. You can either use the "set unfocused" action of the button, or use sprites instead that you can click on.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,294
Reputation: 70,999

Post » Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:36 am

A bug report must follow all of the guidelines and include a minimal .capx with clear instruction on how to reproduce the bug.

You must also have tested in the latest beta - r215 Bug Reporting Requirements - just in case the bug has already been fixed.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,419
Reputation: 59,524

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests