Buttons and layering...

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:33 pm

I was trying to make a sprite overlap a button but neither "always send to front", "always place in front of object" or moving either the sprite or the button to a different layer worked.

Is the "button" object locked to the top layer?

I wanted to make a custom mouse cursor but it always goes behind whatever button I make... :|
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 401
Reputation: 2,302

Post » Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:46 pm

[quote="Caspis Sinclair":223lhgsy]Is the "button" object locked to the top layer?[/quote:223lhgsy]
Yes - it's a window control, and like edit boxes, list boxes and so on, these cannot be layered and are always on top. That's how Windows draws them.

If you're making a game I'd recommend using Sprites for buttons - the window controls are intended for applications, precisely because they have these layering limitations.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:02 am

[quote="Ashley":3o06dv8d][quote="Caspis Sinclair":3o06dv8d]If you're making a game I'd recommend using Sprites for buttons - the window controls are intended for applications, precisely because they have these layering limitations.[/quote:3o06dv8d][/quote:3o06dv8d]

Of course... why would I just make a custom cursor if I'm not going to bother doing the same with the buttons? :oops:

Thanks again.
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 401
Reputation: 2,302

Post » Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:28 am

Cursors can be changed so you could set a custom cursor over them, so if that's all you want to show above the controls, you're in luck :). Custom cursors would require a simple plugin, hopefully it can be done before 1.0.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest