buying construct 2 on steam?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:57 am

[QUOTE=notnsane] A question - can I open 2 Construct at the same time?

I normally use it with tutorials to compare events.[/QUOTE]

Steam Version: No you can't.

Scirra Version: Yes you can. DUTOIT2013-12-26 10:58:05
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:36 am

I'm really close to buying a copy in the Scirra store, but I'm afraid of the possibility that I buy today and tomorrow they decide to have a super discount hahaha

I was considering buying a copy on Steam, but I really didn't see the benefit of having yet another software in the middle. It is a bit more expensive, but I fell I'll have more freedom with the software, which is worth it.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 589

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 2:46 am

[QUOTE=notnsane] A question - can I open 2 Construct at the same time?

I normally use it with tutorials to compare events.[/QUOTE]

Yes you can.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:45 am

[QUOTE=mindfaQ] [QUOTE=notnsane] A question - can I open 2 Construct at the same time?

I normally use it with tutorials to compare events.[/QUOTE]

Yes you can.[/QUOTE]


No you can't @mindfaQ he is talking about steam version to which you can only have 1 instance open at a time.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:52 pm

[QUOTE=DUTOIT]@mindfaQ he is talking about steam version to which you can only have 1 instance open at a time. [/QUOTE]

you can...
http://666kb.com/i/ckgj1gbmpllewqii4.png
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:00 pm

@mindfaQ, lol, how oh master?
Seriously, how? You create to shortcut links? or something?
I don't use steam anymore - I hate it that much, but I'm sure you will help others who do if you share your wisdom DUTOIT2013-12-27 15:02:39
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 3:52 pm

I've only done it once when my computer was lagging. Other than that Steam refuses to let me open multiple instances.

Got a trick for that?
B
21
S
8
G
6
Posts: 346
Reputation: 4,891

Post » Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:09 pm

Browse to your steam folder, steamapps/common/construct2
start construct2.exe there. Steam will register it as free version, but when it runs, it will be the registered version. Additionally to that you can run the Construct 2 personal from steam. This way you can at least run two instances.

If that doesn't work, then it has something to do with symbolic links I guess, since I've made one for construct. Use the mklink command or try the steam mover for that task.mindfaQ2013-12-27 17:11:41
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:09 am

I had to buy it thought Steam, but I hope to not have any problems.

I couldn't buy it through the Scirra Store. I kept getting an error that my postal code was wrong, even though it wasn't. I guess Sprite can't handle zip codes from Brazil.

Even when I finally got my Paypal account running, it was 75% more than the price I would pay on Steam! Not worth at all. I miss the cool medal and some freedom, but it the dollar is way too high.Martiny2013-12-29 03:10:26
B
7
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 589

Post » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:14 am

[QUOTE=DUTOIT] @mindfaQ, lol, how oh master?
Seriously, how? You create to shortcut links? or something?
I don't use steam anymore - I hate it that much, but I'm sure you will help others who do if you share your wisdom [/QUOTE]

I have no problem with just hitting launch in Steam, then doing it again. Right now I have 2 instances of C2 open and Kerbal Space Program.
B
46
S
14
G
7
Posts: 603
Reputation: 8,106

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests