C2 and 3D !!

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:43 am

It would be stupid not to implement 3D into Construct 2 the same way as Construct classic had it, because it really made a difference. It could be made available only for the business version to make sure that people who are not familiar with 3D wouldn't flood the forums.

Is this something useful for this feature? https://code.google.com/p/stormenginec/nemo2013-09-23 10:26:31
B
44
S
5
G
5
Posts: 412
Reputation: 5,771

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:42 am

Personally, If I want to make a game with some 3D, I would prefer someone to implement the amazing construct2 event code system in Unity!!! :)
B
73
S
21
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 12,148

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:32 am

i dont know, but it would seem to me unnatural to use an event based system for full 3D support ( :p )
B
20
S
8
G
2
Posts: 122
Reputation: 3,202

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:07 pm

Programming languages are unatural to me. :p
B
73
S
21
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 12,148

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:44 pm

Honest question for the OP - Why not use Unity? It's 3D, relatively easy to use (it has some bullsh*t to navigate like any engine does though) and exports to everything.ChrisAlgoo2013-09-23 17:45:06
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 143
Reputation: 4,004

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:41 pm

I can think of quite a compelling reason for not using Unity - cost.

As it says in the FAQ, the feature set of the free version is not intended for the production of professional games and interactive content. That means you need the Pro license.

Unity Pro $1,500
IOS $1,500
Android $1,500

Adds up pretty quickly.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,540
Reputation: 60,424

Post » Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:46 am

[QUOTE=zenox98] I can think of quite a compelling reason for not using Unity - cost.

As it says in the FAQ, the feature set of the free version is not intended for the production of professional games and interactive content. That means you need the Pro license.

Unity Pro $1,500
IOS $1,500
Android $1,500

Adds up pretty quickly.[/QUOTE]


I totally agree with you.fawdda2013-09-24 09:47:03
B
13
S
4
G
4
Posts: 42
Reputation: 3,967

Post » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:00 am

[QUOTE=zenox98]As it says in the FAQ, the feature set of the free version is not intended for the production of professional games and interactive content. That means you need the Pro license.[/QUOTE]
Actually I have to contest you on that point.

It says that the 'feature set' isn't 'intended' for production of professional quality content. It doesn't say that you're not allowed to use it for such, it means that the feature set is scaled down (for student use, primarily) and will not provide everything you need for a AAA quality/budget title.

You're still allowed to make a game and sell it with the free version, but once you hit 100k USD you need to purchase the Pro license (it's also worthy to note that this is based on the fiscal years, so you could actually be in excess of far more than 100k when you truly legally need to purhcase the license).

It's the exact same kind of deal C2 has, only with different amounts. Considering most people are fine with the requirement to get a business license if you hit 5k USD with C2, the 100k limit for Unity Pro should be more than enough.inkBot2013-09-24 11:05:55
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

Post » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:07 am

@inkBot

I don't see how you can contend what I said, when I quoted verbatim from the FAQ on their site.

I also never said you couldn't make and sell using the free version.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,540
Reputation: 60,424

Post » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:14 am

You might not have actually said that. But without that context, this:

"That means you need the Pro license"

implies that that is what you meant. [Edited for clarity]

So we're not in disagreement on that, but my contention still kinda stands since you also omitted the revenue limit and only mentioned the license costs. I don't think the cost of the license is that big of a deal if you have excess revenue of 100k. Though, that's of course a subjective contention, since you're free to think it's too expensive.inkBot2013-09-24 11:30:29
B
73
S
20
G
10
Posts: 524
Reputation: 9,896

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests