[C2] Auto-Saving Bug (Random Switches & Loss Of Data)

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:42 pm

Problem Description
Construct 2 seems to have an internal issue which leads to some kind of project corruption.
From autosave to autosave I noticed that C2 creates more and more autosave files without overriding the main savefile. When closing and reloading a project all progress from the previous session is either lost or inside one of the many autosave files.

Attach a Capx
Not relevant but if requested, I could send one of the broken projects using a PM.

Steps to Reproduce
Unknown!

Observed Result
C2 seems to have an internal issue with autosaving larger projects which leads to corrupted saving and the loss of all changes made within the session.

Expected Result
Autosaving should work fine and focus on overriding the main capx instead of creating more and more useless autosave files.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 with latest updates and up to date drivers.

Construct 2 Version ID
C2 version 230+ Steam release. [Personal Edition]
Last edited by TheRealDannyyy on Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:13 pm, edited 11 times in total.
ImageImageImage
B
63
S
23
G
78
Posts: 661
Reputation: 44,935

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:47 am

I'm currently experiencing this. I have a days worth of unsaved work open on Construct 2. It does not save even though I make a change and it gives a progress bar, but the date and time don't change on the .caproj file. It's a fairly large project also. I've been working on my game for half a year now. I've experienced this before and I lost a week worth of work. Last time I thought it was hardware failure, but I've since switched computers and now it happened again.
In short: Construct2 looks like it's saving, but there's no changes to the project files. I also get these capx.capx.capx files.

Possible cause:
My computer was resuming from sleep when the "autosave" popped up on construct.
Any interruption to "autosave" corrupts the project and it is unable to save from this point on.
B
26
S
6
Posts: 55
Reputation: 1,468

Post » Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:09 pm

I've experimented it too, but I am unable to reproduce it.
I'm not a insane, my mother had me tested

I'm an engineer. To save time, just assume I'm never wrong
B
30
S
13
G
4
Posts: 141
Reputation: 4,832

Post » Fri Sep 09, 2016 2:34 pm

JeffSkyrunner wrote:I've experimented it too, but I am unable to reproduce it.

From my tests done about a year ago this issue was caused by interrupting the auto-saving process.
However trying to interrupt the process requires external tools or one of the methods we've already mentioned here.

Just as a side note, I took a weekend off to create a new project file and transfer over all of my progress into that one. So far I didn't experience any issues with the new project file and I hope that this did the trick for me.

Although that doesn't mean that this bug is "fixed", this issue still exists somewhere in the code and will most-likly be fixed with the release of C3 I guess.
Last edited by TheRealDannyyy on Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImageImage
B
63
S
23
G
78
Posts: 661
Reputation: 44,935

Post » Fri Sep 09, 2016 8:35 pm

ive been experiencing this issue for the last 3 or 4 weeks....

only started after use of an existing "working" file that work was lost on when c2 crashed on exporting ... i removed the extension from the backup file...got my work back, then the weirdness started to happen.

personally i have seen this happen ONLY on files that i have had to recover (removing the backup Extension)

but a co-worker started seeing the issue when she was trying to cloud sync to google drive.
i constantly work from files on dropBox as well as google drive and havent seen this happen yet....

im sure this doesnt help at all .... but figured i would chime in with my experiences and findings :)

i
B
27
S
5
G
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 1,447

Post » Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:05 pm

Mubot wrote:ive been experiencing this issue for the last 3 or 4 weeks....
only started after use of an existing "working" file that work was lost on when c2 crashed on exporting ... i removed the extension from the backup file...got my work back, then the weirdness started to happen.
...

I highly recommend to create a new projectfile and use the .capx format instead of a folder before it's too late!
As I mentioned before, that did the trick for me and since then I didn't have to deal with this loss of data thing ever again.

Here are some things that you could do, to avoid this bug from ruining your progress:
> Pause any cloud-sync related programs while you work on your project and sync when you're done
> Disable Windows automatic standby mode
> Use a compressed capx instead of a project folder

If you want to be on the totally safe side just as I am, fully disable autosaving and do a "reminder" system.
I've added a global event which basically shows an alert to "Save your project!" after the window has been closed.

Even though it seems to work fine, I'm not going to trust autosaving ever again unless something is being done about it.
Last edited by TheRealDannyyy on Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImageImage
B
63
S
23
G
78
Posts: 661
Reputation: 44,935

Post » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:47 pm

TheRealDannyyy wrote:
Mubot wrote:ive been experiencing this issue for the last 3 or 4 weeks....
only started after use of an existing "working" file that work was lost on when c2 crashed on exporting ... i removed the extension from the backup file...got my work back, then the weirdness started to happen.
...

I highly recommend to create a new projectfile and use the .capx format instead of a folder before it's too late!
As I mentioned before, that did the trick for me and since then I didn't have to deal with this loss of data bullsh** ever again. (Sorry for cursing but it's really frustrating...)

Here are some things that you could do, to avoid this bug from ruining your progress:
> Pause any cloud-sync related programs while you work on your project and sync when you're done
> Disable Windows automatic standby mode
> Use a compressed capx instead of a project folder

If you want to be on the totally safe side just as I am, fully disable autosaving and do a "reminder" system.
I've added a global event which basically shows an alert to "Save your project!" after the window has been closed.

Even though it seems to work fine, I'm not going to trust autosaving ever again unless something is being done about it.


already there! ... fixed the file and turned off the autosave and havent had an issue since!
B
27
S
5
G
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 1,447

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:48 am

TheRealDannyyy wrote:I highly recommend to create a new projectfile and use the .capx format instead of a folder before it's too late!

Unfortunately, there is another bug/issue that can cause capx files being corrupted. I think it is a different issue since it isn't related to saving but rather running a preview, but just want to mention it, since I constantly come across it. I use the .caproj format to prevent it from losing my work.
B
45
S
21
G
65
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 38,221

Post » Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:31 am

I too am experiencing my projects not saving. The auto save function is working just fine and that is how I am accessing my projects. I merely rename the backup file to the regular file's name and continue from that. This is a very recent issue that has started approximately last week or so.

Thank Scirra for such a reliable autosave. I would have jsut died a long time ago with out it!
B
19
S
7
G
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1,378


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest