C2 Data Editor (Tools)

Discuss Scirra's 2D Asset Store

Post » Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:00 pm

j0schi wrote:As i am working alot with this tool lately i want to give you some feedback:
thanks
Patrick


Thanks much for the feedback... I really appreciate it!

1) Sorting by numbers - I am using components made by others and since their components do not support this neither do I...sorry... I will look into the ability to designate some columns as numbers rather than strings when you create a column... this might fix the issue.

2) I will work on some tutorials showing how to use the sample CRUD functions. The "C2 Data Editor Demo.capx" that comes with the package shows these functions being used so you can look at that code to see what it is doing.

3) The next update will include the ability to search for and replace empty fields!

4) I tried to overwrite data by dragging and dropping rows many times and I could not reproduce what you are describing. If you can explain the exact steps of how you can get this to happen I will look at it again.. I will look at adding a copy row feature soon.

Thanks again!
Last edited by ggibson1 on Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
21
S
5
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1,974

Post » Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:07 pm

j0schi wrote:Update:

When i try to edit a row sometimes it jumps to the first row and overwrites this value insted of the actual selected cell... the thing that i have to click serveral times is really annoying.

when i set the colum with it doesnt get saved. as soon as i add a new colum it gets reseted also when i restart thge tool whats making the work with big tables very hard.

regards.



1) I could not reproduce clicking a cell and having it jump to the first row. If you can explain the exact steps that lead to this happening I will look at it again.

2) Clicking to edit a cell is standard grid behavior that comes built into the grid component I am using. Click once to select cell and click once more to begin editing.

3) I will look into adding the ability to remember column widths for the next version.

Thanks again!
B
21
S
5
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1,974

Post » Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:11 pm

A new update has just been uploaded. Everyone should receive an email in the next 24 hours with download instructions.

From the Changes.txt file:

* Bug fixes
* Added "Remove Sort" button to the Array Editor screen so the data can be reset back to the default sort order.
* The main screen now sorts data objects by name.
* Added two new DataSet Functions (SearchBetweenFindFirst and SearchBetweenReturnColumn).
* Add ability to replace empty fields with a value using the Search And Replace dialog.
* Sort objects list in the "Select To Inject" dialog.


Descriptions of the two new DataSet Functions:

SearchBetweenFindFirst

- Search two columns (LowerBound and UpperBound) in a DataSet for a match where a search value falls between the LowerBound and UpperBound. If a match is found then the RowIndex for the matching row is returned.


SearchBetweenReturnColumn

- Search two columns (LowerBound and UpperBound) in a DataSet for a match where a search value falls between the LowerBound and UpperBound. If a match is found then the value of a column in that row is returned.

*** Don't forget to rate and review C2 Data Editor in the Scirra App Store!!!
B
21
S
5
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1,974

Post » Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:17 am

Great update, thank you very much! :)

I will try to reproduce the overwriting behavior and will try to explain it better :)

regards
B
19
S
7
G
1
Posts: 222
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:28 pm

I'm on the fence here because I fear I don't fully understand what this is capable of but I thought I'd ask directly.

I'm looking for a way to implement a potentially highly complex dialogue system that will include localization and functions something like Guzimus system in the link below.
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/833/mod-side-story-a-walkthrough-of-a-text-dialog-mod

Is this tool worth looking further into for my purposes?
B
10
S
2
Posts: 80
Reputation: 995

Post » Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:25 pm

Centra wrote:I'm on the fence here because I fear I don't fully understand what this is capable of but I thought I'd ask directly.

I'm looking for a way to implement a potentially highly complex dialogue system that will include localization and functions something like Guzimus system in the link below.
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/833/mod-side-story-a-walkthrough-of-a-text-dialog-mod

Is this tool worth looking further into for my purposes?


Sure it is worth using.

The C2 Data Editor makes it a lot easier to maintain a local database of information and query that information.

That kind of tool can be used for a million different things whether it be an inventory of in-game items, a dialogue system, a list of monsters, etc.

The C2 Data Editor simply takes what is already available in Construct 2 as a manual process and automates a lot of it.

If you have ever made a computer program that used a SQL database then you already know the type of tools C2 Data Editor provides.
B
21
S
5
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1,974

Post » Mon Dec 01, 2014 2:37 pm

Yes. Definitely would like to see a video tutorial. Looks very useful.
Image
B
75
S
23
G
3
Posts: 673
Reputation: 9,283

Post » Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:27 pm

A new update has just been uploaded. Everyone should receive an email in the next 24 hours with download instructions.

From the Changes.txt file:

* Bug fixes
* Now asks you to save when you close the application
* Remembers the widths of the columns in the Array editor
* Can now copy and paste rows in the Array editor



*** Don't forget to rate and review C2 Data Editor in the Scirra App Store!!!
B
21
S
5
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1,974

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 3:39 am

Hi @ggibson1

Nice tool - just bought it.

Initial thougts after about an hour of playing with it;

  • It would be nice to be able to rename arrays.
  • It would be nice to be able to rename columns.
  • The editor couldn't import a json file, C2 didn't have any problems with (probably because of tab formatting). I had to load the json in C2, and then download it again via C2 - not as smooth as I hoped.

Otherwise it seems to do the job I bought it for - props!

Cheers,
thegrind
B
26
S
9
G
2
Posts: 78
Reputation: 2,524

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:10 am

thegrind wrote:Hi @ggibson1

Nice tool - just bought it.

Initial thougts after about an hour of playing with it;

  • It would be nice to be able to rename arrays.
  • It would be nice to be able to rename columns.
  • The editor couldn't import a json file, C2 didn't have any problems with (probably because of tab formatting). I had to load the json in C2, and then download it again via C2 - not as smooth as I hoped.

Otherwise it seems to do the job I bought it for - props!

Cheers,
thegrind


Thanks for your feedback!

Your first two items are currently available in the C2 Data Editor. Renaming arrays is like renaming a file in Windows. Click once to select and click again to go into rename mode. To rename columns double click the column header.

I do not understand your third item. To import JSON already in C2 format you should paste it into the main screen.

Good luck!
B
21
S
5
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1,974

PreviousNext

Return to Scirra Store

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mallets and 2 guests