C2 games not working in IE9/10/11

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:45 am

I did some tests in IE and my games doesn't work. The game loads and freezes on the first screen. The buttons and the sounds do not work. The games works very well in Chrome and Firefox. The problem may be the Touch object? What could be the other reasons? Thanks. RenatoB2014-02-02 00:45:50
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:12 am

@RenatoB, I had trouble like that a while ago. I believe there was a known bug where touch events weren't firing in some versions of IE. It sounded like Ashley thought he had fixed it, but I know I had the issue after that (but I may have still been using an older version of C2). I haven't tested in old versions of IE recently, but if you are up-to-date and still having the problem you may want to submit a bug report...
B
95
S
33
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,640

Post » Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:13 am

@AllanR, I was afraid it was something wrong I was doing, so I asked here to see if it happens to everyone. If the problem is the touch object, can also use the Mouse object, such as another condition (or). That would solve the problem or I need to remove the Touch conditions?
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:51 pm

C2 games should work fine on IE9+. We have not heard any similar reports to this one. Are your graphics card drivers up to date?
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:20 pm

@Ashley, I tried in two different machines (IE9 - desktop with win7 nvidia gts 450 / netbook win8 IE11). All my graphics card is up to date. A friend of mine did a test and not worked in his machine too (notebook win8 IE11). Everythig happens the same way: loading the game and freezes. No audio and no interaction. This happened with 03 games.
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:41 am

I changed the Touch objects by Mouse objects and the game worked in Internet Explorer. The only problem now is that it has no sound. How can I solve this? So I have to create games with Touch objects only to mobile devices and use Mouse objects when producing games for the web?
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:04 pm

@RenatoB - no sound in IE is a common problem when the server is not configured correctly. Server issues could have also caused your other problems. The manual describes the MIME types you need to set up for audio.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:11 am

Thanks @Ashley. I'll check the manual about the server configuration. And with regard to the problem with the touch objects? I shall use them only in the applications versions and switch to mouse objects when producing games for web?
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Post » Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:56 am

I also noticed some time ago that my simple RPN-calculator don't work at all with IE .. I never bothered checking about Touch vs Mouse since I used touch-system inside the C2 and just assumed it will work on all browsers..
Need help? Upload .capx file with your question.
B
16
S
4
G
2
Posts: 233
Reputation: 2,560

Post » Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:30 pm

@Ashley: I saw in the manual the following reference:

MIME types
In order for your server to send audio files Correctly, it must be set-up with The Following MIME types:

. the ogg audio / ogg
. m4a the audio/mp4

But I don't understood exactly where I have to change it on the server. Thank you.RenatoB2014-02-09 17:26:34
B
74
S
13
G
4
Posts: 1,000
Reputation: 8,041

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests