C2 heavy start with activation

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:22 pm

Hello, I just installed C2 (243R 64) on a new installation of W10.

C2 started very quickly.
I check my license.
C2 now takes a lot longer to boot when I've activated the license.

why?.

Video
https://youtu.be/TUFDqoPZOsU
Last edited by The Mnk on Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
29
S
12
G
21
Posts: 783
Reputation: 14,417

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:25 pm

Did you check your hardware resources at the moment you start C2? Maybe you have another process using all of your CPU/RAM.
Lead developer at Octeto Studios
Visit our portfolio at: http://www.octetostudios.com/ :)
Facebook || Twitter || Youtube
B
37
S
7
G
5
Posts: 217
Reputation: 5,614

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:31 pm

It's not the hardware, it's always happened to me.
I just opened C2 and saw how fast it opened, then I activated the license and closed C2, then I reopened it and now the startup is much slower.

6 Ram
i5
Only chrome open
B
29
S
12
G
21
Posts: 783
Reputation: 14,417

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:35 pm

We haven't changed anything related to startup or licensing for a long time, let alone r243. Are you sure it was different in previous builds?
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:43 pm

This has always happened to me, it is not a 243 problem.
I thought it was because of the automatic update check but I disabled it and it has no effect.
B
29
S
12
G
21
Posts: 783
Reputation: 14,417

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:47 pm

My exact starting time is 9 seconds.
B
29
S
12
G
21
Posts: 783
Reputation: 14,417

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:54 pm

The Mnk wrote:My exact starting time is 9 seconds.

Dude you call that heavy start ?
Mine takes 7 seconds, so it is normal for C2 to take less than 10 seconds to load.
But seriously, I thought you were referring to something like 20 or 30 seconds delay...

That is not an issue at all.
Banned User
B
17
S
7
G
23
Posts: 388
Reputation: 13,994

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:03 pm

For me, it takes 7 seconds as well.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:32 pm

X3M wrote:
The Mnk wrote:My exact starting time is 9 seconds.

Dude you call that heavy start ?
Mine takes 7 seconds, so it is normal for C2 to take less than 10 seconds to load.
But seriously, I thought you were referring to something like 20 or 30 seconds delay...

That is not an issue at all.



The point is that C2 opens in 2/3 seconds if you do not activate it.
To test this you just have to rename the folder where you have the license, then run C2 a few times so that it does not detect the license and run in demo mode, then you will see the time difference.

If you start with license, then it takes about 8 seconds.
I think it is by some algorithm that is run to check if the license is accepted.
But is toot heavy.
If that is the cause, that algorithm should only be executed the first time, then the system should check if the key is the same as the previous one and thus not execute the authentication algorithm.

I do not know what the reason is but I have put super heavy the operation of the program.
Before I loaded my project in half the time, now it takes a long time to load it and to do the preview in the windows browser, everything is heavier, I do not know why.

I have tested with the R242 and I'm also quite slow, I do not know what happens.
I have just reinstalled windows due to a startup error I had in the previous installation and this happens.
B
29
S
12
G
21
Posts: 783
Reputation: 14,417

Post » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:21 pm

I have always put the license file in the C2 root folder, didn't know you could tell it to find it somewhere else.

Does it help if you do that?
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
34
S
12
G
7
Posts: 358
Reputation: 7,148

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lukewasthefish and 6 guests