C2 Licenses to Steam key and related questions

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:23 am

The version on Steam is the latest. But it's the latest stable version, as in, the most reliable one. The newer ones are beta versions, and they aren't as reliable.

You can download both from Steam, just right-click Construct 2, go to properties and select the "beta" tab, and change the option.

It doesn't work for me because of some bug.
B
106
S
35
G
36
Posts: 793
Reputation: 24,705

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:02 am

Hi all,

In fact, I bought C2 on steam yesterday and can't find it in my library of steam account.
I contacted steam and support@scirra.com .
When will I get my personal license?
(I can provide details of my purchase)

Thanks in advance


Edit:
Construct 2 is put in ALL SOFTWARES instead of All Games (default) in library of steam account.sammyconstruct2013-02-02 10:36:33
B
5
S
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 703

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:50 am

I also bought Construct 2 Personal on steam, while it is nice to have it on steam it does rather make it impossible to create a portable version, as the steam version does not provide you with a licence file, so we cant just copy C2 to a USB stick, copy the licence and go work on a laptop, you need steam, which is a bummer.

Is there any way for people who purchased it on steam to get a licence file sent out?, providing we send Scirra proof of purchase ofcourse.
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:56 am

[QUOTE=cyberdrizzt] ... Is there any way for people who purchased it on steam to get a licence file sent out?, providing we send Scirra proof of purchase ofcourse.[/QUOTE]

I want to know too. We should be allowed to do so because it is the same product Construct 2, no matter it is on steam or on Scirra.
Steam just provide a place for grouping games or softwares only.
For example, if we buy GTA 4 on steam, we can still access social group. It is the same GTA4 selling in everywhere. No difference.

Please help.sammyconstruct2013-02-02 12:00:26
B
5
S
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 703

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:55 pm


[QUOTE=andreyin] The version on Steam is the latest. But it's the latest stable version, as in, the most reliable one. The newer ones are beta versions, and they aren't as reliable.

You can download both from Steam, just right-click Construct 2, go to properties and select the "beta" tab, and change the option.

It doesn't work for me because of some bug.[/QUOTE]

I've done this. It just doesn't offer me any beta updates after selecting from the dropdown menu. I've uninstalled construct and downloaed it again from Steam, and it still will install v 114.

Any other suggestions?
B
8
S
2
Posts: 39
Reputation: 1,492

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:34 pm

[QUOTE=wrongtarget]

I've done this. It just doesn't offer me any beta updates after selecting from the dropdown menu. I've uninstalled construct and downloaed it again from Steam, and it still will install v 114.

Any other suggestions?[/QUOTE]

Try removing the Free version from your steam list if you have it there, then quit steam, and reload it.
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:34 pm

[QUOTE=wrongtarget]
[QUOTE=andreyin] The version on Steam is the latest. But it's the latest stable version, as in, the most reliable one. The newer ones are beta versions, and they aren't as reliable.

You can download both from Steam, just right-click Construct 2, go to properties and select the "beta" tab, and change the option.

It doesn't work for me because of some bug.[/QUOTE]

I've done this. It just doesn't offer me any beta updates after selecting from the dropdown menu. I've uninstalled construct and downloaed it again from Steam, and it still will install v 114.

Any other suggestions?[/QUOTE]

I got it to work by downloading the latest version from here:

https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases

And installing it on Construct's Steam folder ("c:/program files/steam/steamapps/your name/common/construct 2" or something like that).

Actually I installed it on a regular folder, then selected everything and copy/pasted onto it's Steam folder, and it worked. Not sure if it's advisable though. I'm pretty sure this is a bug with Steam, since they're new with apps and such.
B
106
S
35
G
36
Posts: 793
Reputation: 24,705

Post » Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:12 pm

Tried that but it reverts to FREE edition, i lose my license.
:(

[QUOTE=andreyin] [QUOTE=wrongtarget]
[QUOTE=andreyin] The version on Steam is the latest. But it's the latest stable version, as in, the most reliable one. The newer ones are beta versions, and they aren't as reliable.

You can download both from Steam, just right-click Construct 2, go to properties and select the "beta" tab, and change the option.

It doesn't work for me because of some bug.[/QUOTE]

I've done this. It just doesn't offer me any beta updates after selecting from the dropdown menu. I've uninstalled construct and downloaed it again from Steam, and it still will install v 114.

Any other suggestions?[/QUOTE]

I got it to work by downloading the latest version from here:

https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases

And installing it on Construct's Steam folder ("c:/program files/steam/steamapps/your name/common/construct 2" or something like that).

Actually I installed it on a regular folder, then selected everything and copy/pasted onto it's Steam folder, and it worked. Not sure if it's advisable though. I'm pretty sure this is a bug with Steam, since they're new with apps and such.
[/QUOTE]
B
8
S
2
Posts: 39
Reputation: 1,492

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:39 am

If you uninstall the personal Construct. Then install the free Construct, opt for beta on the Free, restart, it will update the Free to the latest one. Then if you install the Personal Construct it will load as the latest beta version :P
It's just a workaround, but will do for the moment.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 39
Reputation: 1,492

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:04 pm

Meh I am having a problem with some platform behaviour ( when you move from one tile to the next, the player will vibrate for a few seconds sometimes ) I am using the beta version on steam, and because you can't have the beta + stable version running on steam side by side I can't tell if its just in 117 or in 114 too, ah the joys of steam, it would have been great to have the licence file available for steam purchases for exactly this kind of bug testing scenario.

Other than that, love it :P
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests