C2 performance still depressing

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:29 pm

I dont think Scirra can do anything tbh. I am sure if they could they would.
Really it was just a statement about how i feel when i start a new project, then am reminded as soon as i run it that i cant (at the moment) produce a completed project.
Even if Google pulled their finger out and fixed Chrome tomorrow there is no saying that the following week it week it wouldnt be broken again. Although i am not in this situation myself at the moment i really do feel for the people who have games ready to go and have to wait for Google.
B
47
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,180

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:08 pm

I think we just have to accept that C2 is a prototype/education tool.
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
34
S
12
G
7
Posts: 353
Reputation: 7,138

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:13 pm

@Aurel used Node-Webkit 10.5 for The Next Penelope and it seems to be working fine. They even said they got greenworks to work with it. Maybe that is the key for the moment. Their game gets outstanding reviews as well and no mention of jank. http://store.steampowered.com/app/332250/
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,964

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:58 pm

Farmville 2 is a unity game btw.
B
79
S
37
G
13
Posts: 957
Reputation: 15,389

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 5:02 pm

Farmville 2 is a unity game btw.


No idea where you got this from, but Farmville 2 is of course still running on Flash, based on Flare3D.

*Edit: Aaah, I see now, you were referring to Farmville 2: Country Escape. Completely different beast.
B
70
S
27
G
32
Posts: 476
Reputation: 19,573

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:51 pm

Here's my 2 cents:

The only time I get jank in my game (using latest NW.js) is sometimes when my character is running left or right, it kind of stutters heavily. But that's fixed by just running in the opposite direction, stopping and then running the way you wanted.

Aside from that, there's a slide pause when I change into morph mode, but that only happens once.
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:25 pm

It seems that CPU usage is also a big factor, if your game has lots of intensive things going on you'll hit slowdown faster than something that looks pretty, both bottlenecks of CPU and GPU occur in any engine, they are just easier to reach in C2 than other tools.
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (but not play them)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
108
S
38
G
17
Posts: 2,172
Reputation: 18,964

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:52 pm

For the record I haven't had any performance issues in a long time (using NW.js). Granted I am developing retro games with a resolution of 320x240, but it still has very large dynamically loaded levels and such. Maybe just stick to slightly smaller games...it's still browser technology you know.
Image
B
238
S
28
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,485

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:10 pm

For me the only option is to use Node-Webkit 10.5, otherwise using Chrome or NW.js stutters. Oddly enough Firefox is as smooth as silk.

Lets face it a single rotating sprite on a blank background running at 1280 x 720 wouldnt stress my digital clock let alone a Quad Core i7 clocked at 4.5Ghz with 32gb ram and an Nvidia 980gtx.
Last edited by spongehammer on Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
47
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,180

Post » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:24 pm

Nesteris wrote:Here's my 2 cents:

The only time I get jank in my game (using latest NW.js) is sometimes when my character is running left or right, it kind of stutters heavily. But that's fixed by just running in the opposite direction, stopping and then running the way you wanted.

Aside from that, there's a slide pause when I change into morph mode, but that only happens once.


If you are using platform behaviour, the official one is broken. The platform plus works like a charm.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
78
S
21
G
19
Posts: 1,932
Reputation: 17,316

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Phacanu and 5 guests