C2 R60 check failure - "Object has no animations"

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:20 pm

Object has no animations

Condition: !anims.empty()

Edit by Kyat: Edited the title for readability purposesKyatric2011-10-03 20:16:16
B
12
S
5
G
5
Posts: 80
Reputation: 3,572

Post » Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:08 pm

Please Methab follow the instructions in How to report a bug.

Also paste the check failure.
Your report, as it is, is pretty much useless and can't be treated.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:52 pm

The .capx doing this would be extremely useful as well (how to report a bug: #5)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:26 am

It has been fixed. Looks like every sprite has to had an animation.
B
12
S
5
G
5
Posts: 80
Reputation: 3,572

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:45 am

I'll post here as this is related.

C2 r60; Windows XP SP3; FireFox 7.0.1; ATI Radeon HD 4870
Dual-core E5200 @ 2.5 GhZ; 3,5 Go RAM

After having worked on my project for some hours, added events, sprites, animations, changed the project name several times, saved the project as new folders, modified the layout height, I make my final save (by the save icon in the top bar) and click on the red cross (top right of screen) to close C2 when the following check failure occurs:

---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Object has no animations

Condition: !anims.empty()
File: Projects\ObjectType.cpp
Line: 911
Function: class ObjectTexture &__thiscall ObjectType::GetFirstAnimationFrame(void)
Build: release 60 (32-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 0)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abandonner   Recommencer   Ignorer   
---------------------------

Nevertheless, all appears to be fine on loading of the project afterward.
Previewing worked and all textures/objects seemed in place.
More fear than harm.

When I had the check failure, I checked my last project's folder, all seemed to be there, I then came back to C2 and tried to check in the layout if objects were missing textures or something. (leaving the check failure window unclicked in the background)
The layout tab was closed, I double clicked my layout in the project's tab to open it and encountered another check failure (that I didn't copy unfortunately) which error was something like "Layout appears to be a something object but not an object tab".
My guess is that on closing, the closing of the layout tab wasn't done "properly" and messed up the rest of closing (first check failure).
I clicked retry on the first check failure (Object has no animations) and C2 just closed (even closing the second check failure "object's tab").

Sorry for the incomplete second check failure.
Kyatric2011-10-03 07:54:05
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:20 pm

I hope i am posting this in the right place?



I am getting the above error, if i change events or add new sprites to an existing game and try to preview it.

Pressing ignore will allow the game to run, but its really bugging me at the minute.

I have seen various posts about sprites not having animation frames added, and different ways to save projects to avoid the error if using Windows XP......but has anybody got a definitive answer ?

I havent posted any project files because it's happening to all of them.

Another question...if i have projects created with r59, is there an issue opening them with r60.

B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,205
Reputation: 7,298

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:24 pm

this error is coming up every single time. Please help or should I go back to the r59 build?

---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Object has no animations

Condition: !anims.empty()
File: Projects\ObjectType.cpp
Line: 911
Function: class ObjectTexture &__thiscall ObjectType::GetFirstAnimationFrame(void)
Build: release 60 (32-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 0)
B
12
S
5
G
5
Posts: 80
Reputation: 3,572

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:52 pm

[QUOTE=Mehtab] this error is coming up every single time. [/QUOTE]

Every single time you're doing what ? Please be more specific and give the steps/precision about what you are doing before getting this error.


[QUOTE=Mehtab] Please help or should I go back to the r59 build?[/quote]
Ashley will look into this at the end of the week.

Going back to R59 is not advised as it has some known big isssues with file saving.
For now, be patient, make sure it is not just an error getting displayed, whereas the project is still usable, and fill the missing informations as asked in "How to report a bug".


Also, for references, other topics relating apparently the same check failure.


@Chrisbrobs: sounds like this bug you reported.
No answers for now, (except the tricks already given by Ashley). He will look into it when getting back.
R59 saved projects may cause issues in R60 if they had the "saving" bug you talked about (missing frames). Your current error (combo properties) is (apparently) different.Kyatric2011-10-03 20:17:15
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:37 pm

Apparently another relevant thread to this issue.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest