C3 Architect Request list

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Feb 08, 2015 1:26 pm

Everade wrote:About all the "skinnable" which i was reading about through tons of topics over the past few months...
Really?

Is it so important for you to have a colored/darker or black background?
90% of all softwares have got a white background, so we're all used to it.
If it's to bright for you at night, adjust your monitor. Or invert your screen colors if you can't live without it.

........

But skinnable is just a waste of time.

If the skin of Construct is your only problem... /sigh


Well, not real important, but a preference. I use Photoshop every day and it doesn't have any white backgrounds - and I'm used to It. I use C2 every day and it has white backgrounds - and I'm used to it. But I definitely prefer Photoshop gui.

I couldn't care two hoots about Mac, or Linux, but C3 is going to support that audience.

Since the IDE is receiving a massive overhaul, you need to get it right from the ground up.
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
34
S
12
G
7
Posts: 358
Reputation: 7,148

Post » Sun Feb 08, 2015 2:05 pm

Photoshop was always light grey unless their latest releases which became more dark.
Is there any option to change it's skin? From what i know in the older versions CS5 downwards... no. (no idea about newer versions)

Not even such a big company which has the resources of doing so cares about things like being skinnable.

As noted before, if it takes to much time to get this properly implemented into the new IDE, Ashley should completly drop it. Preference of a few developers shouldn't interfere with the development of the Software progress itself.
If it's not a big job to do so, sure why not.

At least, that's my opinion.
B
40
S
8
G
3
Posts: 159
Reputation: 3,019

Post » Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:49 pm

I would love to have something similar to the UE4 blueprints system, at least for game states.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:51 pm

It would be nice to have some team collebroation method to allow 2 or more developers to work on a project simultaneously.

The dark GUI is not a must have. But it gives the eyes a break and it also gives a more professional look to the software.

Miu3 wrote:So far all id like to suggest is naming it Construct 2 PRO and not C3. Feels more right in my opinion


That wouldn't be a smart decision in my opinion. That means that Scirra will have to maintain 2 editors simultaneously. One for the C2 and one for a C2 Pro users.
B
135
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,557
Reputation: 20,717

Post » Sun Feb 08, 2015 6:59 pm

I actually hate dark GUI's, but I guess I'm a special case :o
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (but not play them)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit Dropbox is a pile of trash and if you need my old files PM me! :)
B
116
S
41
G
17
Posts: 2,204
Reputation: 19,545

Post » Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:14 pm

Skinnable is a result, not a low level feature. What I put in the request list was changeable IDE, even if such a feature does not appear on release. As long any someone can make the feature. That's good enough for Ashley to focus on. Low level architect.

A lot of good ideas, but it seems so far that all can be accomplished with the current running architect suggestions.

I'm crossing my fingers. Waiting for some more news down the road :)
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,018

Post » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:19 am

Large world Support is a must for me.

There was talk about this a while back and it is not possible to do as far as I am aware in C2.

/forum/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=119151

Also - it might be worth adding Behavior Trees to streamline AI creation and make more responsive AI. There are some opensource alternatives out there one being BehaviorTree.js

I am not allowed to post links yet so no links. :(
B
13
S
5
Posts: 17
Reputation: 1,011

Post » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:40 am

HeadClot wrote:Large world Support is a must for me

There was talk about this a while back and it is not possible to do as far as I am aware in C2.

Just add scirra dot com

/forum/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=119151

because I am not allowed to post links yet :(


Really, we have the tools to do this now...sort of. To practically do it though, you need a way of spawning objects by name, which necessitates using a third party plug by rexrainbow:

plugin-nickname-behavior-nickname_t74522

I've never actually implemented this, but basically the way it would go is that you build your open world in one layout, have a function that loops thru that layout storing the attributes of all the objects within it(position, inst vars, etc), then store that file as JSON and use it to spawn everything in/out of a blank layout. Otherwise, for a truly huge world, the loading time would be insane.

That being said, this could be streamlined immensely by a few extra built-in actions, as detailed in the thread you linked.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:46 am

Message: HeadClot is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
TiAm wrote:
HeadClot wrote:Large world Support is a must for me

There was talk about this a while back and it is not possible to do as far as I am aware in C2.

Just add scirra dot com

/forum/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=119151

because I am not allowed to post links yet :(


Really, we have the tools to do this now...sort of. To practically do it though, you need a way of spawning objects by name, which necessitates using a third party plug by rexrainbow:



I've never actually implemented this, but basically the way it would go is that you build your open world in one layout, have a function that loops thru that layout storing the attributes of all the objects within it(position, inst vars, etc), then store that file as JSON and use it to spawn everything in/out of a blank layout. Otherwise, for a truly huge world, the loading time would be insane.

That being said, this could be streamlined immensely by a few extra built-in actions, as detailed in the thread you linked.


I stand corrected.
Thank you for this wonderful plugin/info

I also updated my post with another request behavior trees. Most engines if not all these days use them.
There are some open source implementations of behavior trees in javascript and native code.
B
13
S
5
Posts: 17
Reputation: 1,011

Post » Mon Feb 09, 2015 4:15 am

@HeadClot
Unfortunately Ashley feels that layout asset management should only be his responsibility. He feels that loading and unloading assets would confuse newer developers and they would complain. The complaint being that this would 100% create popin and popout issues. However this pop in/out is normal and require zone buffering and level design to avoid players seeing pop in/out. however since that requires people to take that into account in design and would be a more advanced development feature, Ashley for that reason has elected to not allow it. So yeah. We have made the request. but I doubt it's one we will see it until it more of the community becomes vocal. But C3 may allow better developer control to do so anyways. It's just a matter of seeing what comes from C3.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,018

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests