C3 clipboard (Chrome Extension)

Post » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:48 pm

Image
Mistakes were made.
B
53
S
27
G
114
Posts: 1,699
Reputation: 64,446

Post » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:35 pm

The forum gets literally hundreds of posts a day, and it's impossible to deal with everything. I'm also less inclined to reply to things I've answered elsewhere (we'll be using NW.js for desktop builds, but to be fair that's probably buried in the forum somewhere), or things which stray off-topic, or topics so tired I can barely bring myself to discuss them anymore ("my gpu is slow, HTML5 sucks" etc).
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Post » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:06 pm

Fantastic to see, that the Copy paste is working a lot better now!. Good Job @Ashley.

Although i have a minor request, if it's possible.
Every time I try to copy something I get the warning message, it's a bit annoying but bearable. I get why it's there, but is it possible to add a setting so you can turn it off, and only use the internal copy and paste without warnings? That would be swell. You would get the feel like it's working as a normal application. I don't see a lot of scenarios where you would actually copy paste between different apps or instances or C3, so an option to disable the warning and only use the internal copy would be awesome! Maybe external (real clipboard) copy could be a standalone desktop version feature only.


On a sidenote, just for ease of use. When you use Paste... is it possible to paste directly where you clicked, or at mouse pointer... instead of having to click a second time...I think that's just a personal preference that would feel a bit more natural and user friendly. Current design, you kind of get the feeling that the paste didn't work. until you click somewhere. I think that's more close to how other most software usually work. When you paste, it pastes directly, not after a second click. Maybe worth a try? Event sheet works like that so why not Layout view as well?

Anyway great work... keep it up.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 13,875

Post » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:37 pm

@Ashley

should this be happening?

Code: Select all
{"is-c3-clipboard-data":true,"type":"conditions","items":[{"id":"is-between-angles","objectClass":"System","parameters":{"angle":"0","first-angle":"0","second-angle":"45"}}]}


This is what i get, when I copy an event in C3 and paste it here.

And this is what I get when I paste a copied sprite here, as text.

Code: Select all
{"is-c3-clipboard-data":true,"type":"world-instances","items":[{"type":"Sprite","properties":{"initially-visible":true,"initial-animation":"Animation 1","initial-frame":0,"enable-collisions":true,"live-preview":false},"instanceVariables":{},"behaviors":{},"world":{"x":206,"y":226,"width":4.185689907291271,"height":4.185689907291271,"originX":0.46,"originY":0.5,"color":[1,1,1,1],"angle":0}}],"object-types":[{"name":"Sprite","plugin-id":"Sprite","isGlobal":false,"instanceVariables":[],"behaviorTypes":[],"effectTypes":[],"animations":{"items":[{"frames":[{"width":25,"height":25,"originX":0.46,"originY":0.5,"originalSource":"","exportFormat":"png","exportQuality":0.8,"imageDataIndex":0,"duration":1}],"name":"Animation 1","isLooping":false,"isPingPong":false,"repeatCount":1,"repeatTo":0,"speed":5}],"subfolders":[]}}],"imageData":["data:image/png;base64,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"]}


I don't get anything like this when I try to copy something in C2 and paste it in a text editor outside C2.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 13,875

Post » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:13 pm

tunepunk wrote:Every time I try to copy something I get the warning message, it's a bit annoying but bearable. I get why it's there, but is it possible to add a setting so you can turn it off, and only use the internal copy and paste without warnings?

I guess this would avoid those warnings, so I've added a new setting in r21 to use in-app clipboard only (i.e. "use fake clipboard").

When you use Paste... is it possible to paste directly where you clicked, or at mouse pointer... instead of having to click a second time...

This makes sense, no need to show the crosshair when it can just use the clicked position. Changed for r21.

As for the text format: AFAIK browsers can only copy text, not other formats. It could in fact be useful - for example I can select that text and copy-paste it directly in to C3 and see your sprite.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,543
Reputation: 195,430

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:08 am

Ashley wrote:
tunepunk wrote:Every time I try to copy something I get the warning message, it's a bit annoying but bearable. I get why it's there, but is it possible to add a setting so you can turn it off, and only use the internal copy and paste without warnings?

I guess this would avoid those warnings, so I've added a new setting in r21 to use in-app clipboard only (i.e. "use fake clipboard").

When you use Paste... is it possible to paste directly where you clicked, or at mouse pointer... instead of having to click a second time...

This makes sense, no need to show the crosshair when it can just use the clicked position. Changed for r21.

As for the text format: AFAIK browsers can only copy text, not other formats. It could in fact be useful - for example I can select that text and copy-paste it directly in to C3 and see your sprite.


Good news!

Ahhh, that's pretty neat if it works like that.... I just tested it out.
You don't even get warnings that that this object doesn't exist in the project. it creates a new sprite object as well if it doesn't exist.

Same was not the case for events. There you get a warning as usual that the referenced objects doesn't exist. Maybe that would be a nice feature for a future update to have a dialogue to create the missing object and variables if not exist. Maybe even have the referenced objects also be loaded in the copy, but only paste if they don't exist?

I can find many nice uses for this kind of functionality. One thing that comes to mind directly is when helping out other people on the forum. Instead of sharing a c3p file, (it's a bit of a hassle, saving the c3p file on an service like dropbox, sharing the link. Then they have to download the c3p file,open the project) Instead you can share a code snippet, that they can just paste in their project. Maybe very useful for solutions to smaller problems.

It could also be very useful if you want to build up your own library of useful events/functions and code that you are likely to reuse. Instead of having several different c3p files, to copy and paste between, You can save your useful code snippets in a text file, online document, or whatever, for later reuse, and paste into your project when needed. Very neat and handy.

Why not have a built in snippet library, that you can just pick from? Kind of like the plugin dialogue, but with events/objects that you save.
Click one of your saved favorite snippets and it just pastes it into your project. I did some awesome touch controls in another project, that I want to reuse. Highlight those events. Right click... "Save snippet to your library" as.... "touchControls"... for easy access in other projects.

Anyway. Nice work.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 13,875

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:45 pm

@Ashley and @Tom Good job with the last couple of updates. The new clipboard setting is pure GOLD! No more annoying copy messages when trying to copy stuff and paste stuff :)

I think this one could even be enabled by default on web version, (since chrome and most other browsers don't really allow copy to clipboard) but disabled on the upcoming desktop standalone version, it's that good really!

I don't know if it was forgot or left in by purpose, but crosshair on "Ctrl+V" I don't really think is needed either? or if it's left in by purpose... maybe a 50% opacity representation of the things you're about to paste instead of the crosshair, so you more easily see that you have something to drop.

Anyway keep it up. I will report more usability stuff if I find any.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
41
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 13,875

Post » Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:21 pm

I want to know if there will be any plugin or behavior that allows the use of clipboard in construct 3
B
32
S
9
G
3
Posts: 280
Reputation: 4,262

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lutnt40 and 2 guests