C3 + Instant Games SDK = Much Profit

Post » Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:21 am

very interested in adding my titles on fb instant gaming with construct3. Does the plugin support
ads? Monetization thru ads available ?
B
9
S
5
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 1,335

Post » Thu Mar 22, 2018 11:15 am

Have you seen Ashley's blog post about this?

https://www.scirra.com/blog/229/faceboo ... onstruct-3
(Be sure to read through the comments, as well.)

I haven't looked into the details yet, but a few days after the plugin became available (in the Beta build), Scirra announced that they added support for ads.
B
17
S
6
Posts: 133
Reputation: 1,572

Post » Thu Mar 22, 2018 12:57 pm

scirrakeen wrote:very interested in adding my titles on fb instant gaming with construct3. Does the plugin support
ads? Monetization thru ads available ?


Yes it does.
Why don't you just open the editor and look?
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 225
Reputation: 2,420

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:34 am

Hey, guys!

I’m working on an Instant Game version of my latest released game and I wanted to share my experience with you.

So far, my game is still in development.
Here are what I achieved with the plugin:
- Get current player details (name, and avatar) and show them in-game;
- Get current player score, store it locally, and then submit/update it on the related Instant Game leaderboard;
- Get related leaderboard data’s (such as player names, avatars, and highscores;
- Load an Instertial Ad once current player dies;
- Show an Instertial Ad once its ready, and that player plays another game.

Here are what I’m working on now:
- Show an in-game leaderboard;
- Get the Share and Invite events to work. I can’t figure it out for now;

For now, everything is working fine with built-in C3 plugin.
Except the Share and Invite events I can’t get to work for now. But I’m currently looking into it.
To be honest, every hard times I got for now was basically due to a misconfiguration within the Facebook consoles (Facebook Developers, Facebook Monetization, etc). Once it’s very clear to me, I may share with you all different steps to do to get it to work. But honestly, it isn’t that hard to set – it may just take some time to read their huge documentation.

By the way, Facebook set up an official Facebook Group for Instant Games developers: https://m.facebook.com/groups/744264762436352 I joined it weeks ago, and the community is really nice + admins. You get fast and relevant answers to your questions.
Image
Version 1.2.5 - Available for: Web - iOS - Android
B
16
S
3
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,093

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:42 am

antoineguedes wrote:Here are what I’m working on now:
- Show an in-game leaderboard;
- Get the Share and Invite events to work. I can’t figure it out for now


I Antoine,
The Share/Invite functions work very well. So something might be wrong with your events. Since this is actually the simplest function to use.
Ingame leaderboard, to populate leaderboard data into text fields etc is also easy, and works very well. (But since the apps are in test mode you do not have much to show hehe) :D :D

antoineguedes wrote:By the way, Facebook set up an official Facebook Group for Instant Games developers: https://m.facebook.com/groups/744264762436352 I joined it weeks ago, and the community is really nice + admins. You get fast and relevant answers to your questions.


I was the one that told you about how to reset your leaderboard, in the official FB group ;)
But as explained, this function is not part of the IG SDK, so it won't be included in C3 plugin. But it works via Graph API Explorer tool from FB.
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 225
Reputation: 2,420

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:46 pm

antoineguedes wrote:For now, everything is working fine with built-in C3 plugin.
Except the Share and Invite events I can’t get to work for now. But I’m currently looking into it.

I've sent several games and in my experience in some games the share function works and others not. Its very random and I didn't managed to find whats wrong.
B
80
S
23
G
2
Posts: 127
Reputation: 6,205

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:15 pm

fredriksthlm wrote:The Share/Invite functions work very well. So something might be wrong with your events. Since this is actually the simplest function to use.


Error on my side, I was talking about the Share leaderboard update event that I can't get to work.
Anyway, I just did a couple of tests, and you're right! It's very easy to use Share/Invite event. That's finally what I wanted — Players to send their score directly to a friend via a message, or create a new Facebook post about. :D

fredriksthlm wrote:Ingame leaderboard, to populate leaderboard data into text fields etc is also easy, and works very well. (But since the apps are in test mode you do not have much to show hehe) :D :D


Yup! Very easy. I'm now implementing leaderboard design into my game.
I've a few friends as beta tester so it helps a lot to get some data's. You may also create beta test accounts, which are fake accounts, and play your game using those accounts to add some more data's to your game leaderboard. That's a really great feature from Facebook.

fredriksthlm wrote:I was the one that told you about how to reset your leaderboard, in the official FB group ;)
But as explained, this function is not part of the IG SDK, so it won't be included in C3 plugin. But it works via Graph API Explorer tool from FB.


Ha ha, fun! I added you if you don't mind.

Renfd wrote:I've sent several games and in my experience in some games the share function works and others not. Its very random and I didn't managed to find whats wrong.


Which share function do you mean? Share leaderboard update is the one I can't get to work, atm.
Image
Version 1.2.5 - Available for: Web - iOS - Android
B
16
S
3
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,093

Post » Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:35 am

antoineguedes wrote:Error on my side, I was talking about the Share leaderboard update event that I can't get to work.
Anyway, I just did a couple of tests, and you're right! It's very easy to use Share/Invite event. That's finally what I wanted — Players to send their score directly to a friend via a message, or create a new Facebook post about. :D


Share leaderboard update requires that you play the game within a context, and the leaderboard has to be a contextual one. If that is the case, you can set an update ledarboard event, which will automatically send an update message with the score to the context you are in. it will be seen in the context later, but you will never notice anything in the game itself.

This feature also works fine, I have tried.
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 225
Reputation: 2,420

Post » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:12 pm

fredriksthlm wrote:Share leaderboard update requires that you play the game within a context, and the leaderboard has to be a contextual one. If that is the case, you can set an update ledarboard event, which will automatically send an update message with the score to the context you are in. it will be seen in the context later, but you will never notice anything in the game itself.

This feature also works fine, I have tried.


Thank you very much! I got it now, and it absolutely makes sense.
I played around with the context and found out how to get a "SOLO" or "THREAD" one. I was wondering how can we get "POST" and "GROUP" contexts? Any ideas?

EDIT:

Apologizes. I found out on the SDK documentation: https://developers.facebook.com/docs/ga ... textfilter

getType( )
The type of the current game context. POST - A facebook post. THREAD - A messenger thread. GROUP - A facebook group. SOLO - Default context, where the player is the only participant.

This function should not be called until FBInstant.startGameAsync has resolved.
Image
Version 1.2.5 - Available for: Web - iOS - Android
B
16
S
3
Posts: 61
Reputation: 1,093

Post » Thu May 03, 2018 6:12 am

Today SDK v6.2 got released. Only one new thing, but really neat! Friend leaderboards!

@Ashley , in the next Instant Games plugin release, would it be possible to add a tag to the leaderboard functions? both 'load' and 'on loaded', since it might be nice to populate both global and friend leaderboard data into the same game, and also maybe contextual one? currently it is not possible to load and populate more than one on the same time
B
19
S
6
G
1
Posts: 225
Reputation: 2,420

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lancifer, sachos345 and 1 guest