C3 UX Feedback

Post » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:36 pm

The new start page is a bit painful. I'd like recent projects to be on top/open by default, but I can understand the rationale for demos/showcases to be on top.

Good - Easily accessible examples and tech demos! Thumbnails are good to have. New Templates!

Bad - Browsing through examples is a pain, due to the thumbnails. Can only see 1.5 items at a time, and there are a lot of them. Edit 2: I found this was because my screen/layout was JUST not wide enough to have the thumbnails next to the description. Instead the thumbnails get stacked vertically. Hope this gets tweaked.

All the grey buttons are important/useful, but have to scroll to see them on my monitor. Hopefully there can be a emphasis on showcases as well.

Edit: In terms of what a new user should see, I think the beginners guide (both of them, top down shooter and platformer) should be prioritized with the highest emphasis. The manual would probably be second, with a special mention towards How events work (I still have trouble navigating to/finding this page myself. I usually just search for it, but that only works because I know what I'm searching for. Considering how important it is, I think it should be more easily accessible.)

If a third beginner's guide/tutorial were to be considered, I'd like to nominate the vertical space shooter template as a good candidate for an entry level project. Or maybe just updating the end of the ghost shooter tutorial to recommend studying the vertical space shooter template on their own as the next step.
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:01 am

Wrapped container transformations are a nice new feature, but it might be useful to have an easier way to unwrap or select individual pieces again. If the project is of any significant size, it becomes more difficult to locate the individual sprites in the project bar to manipulate them.

When the container is "wrap" or "all" selected, the first place I look to is in the properties bar, but there is nothing of help there currently. I imagine maybe a list of objects in the container and the "Select mode" options would be welcome there, or perhaps all of the container sub properties as well.
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:01 am

Right clicking on most places gives proper C3 specific context menus. Right clicking on text boxes and other form elements such as in the properties bar and pop up dialogues give the default Chrome (for me, when using Chrome obviously) context menu, which is a bit jarring and disappointing. I hope something can be done about this and not just be a hard limitation of using form elements in a browser window... *insert generic anti-browser-based application spiel here*
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:45 am

It's by design. The browser input field context menus provide features that C3 cannot replace, such as paste, spellcheck, writing direction and extra features in other languages, which is particularly important when we get in to translating C3.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:17 pm

Tried C3 on mobile - Android 6.0.1 chrome beta 58.0.3029.54.

Didn't get very far - had uncontrollable urges to hit back button to go back, and that closed the browser tab without warning or saving.
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Sat Apr 08, 2017 1:58 pm

Hello @oosyrag, as you may or may not know I am in charge of everything regarding the Animations Editor. Maybe you have noticed that I end up closing all the bugs in it :)

oosyrag wrote:I find it a little frustrating that the toolbar to the left switches between Animation Properties and the Color Palette depending on what tool is selected. Particularly when real estate is mostly available as there really are not too many animation properties. I'd like to suggest the Animations Properties be docked on the right either above or below the Animations List. Makes sense to me, especially as they are related. Then the left toolbar can always have the Color Palette open.


I have thought about this myself and even came to the same conclusion, the Animations panel has way too much empty space and the Properties panel would fit perfectly below it. I have just been quite busy with other things and haven't been able to get to that.

oosyrag wrote:This leaves us with the Image Points dialogue. I feel like this is a huge feature that is hidden behind a tiny button. I think something should be done to make it a bit more prominent, maybe having it's toolbar always open as well, docked below the Color Palette. But then it might start getting too cluttered... Also related to the image points, is that a fairly common problem is when someone moves the origin point for one animation frame and not the others. Maybe there could be some way to present the "Apply to whole/all animations" more prominently as well. By the way, thanks a ton for the new quick assign option!!
Additionally, I think it would be nice to have the option to show all imagepoints at once, maybe as a toggle. They can be differentiated by color or shape, like how the origin looks different from imagepoints currently.


I think the Image Points panel is fine where it is, after all it is only relevant when the tool is activated. Just a few days ago I also thought about an option to show all the image points in a frame at the same time, even if only for reference. Don't know when I might get around to doing that though.

oosyrag wrote:For the Color Palette, !PLEASE! allow for the picker to be constrained to the palette and continue picking even when the mouse is not over the palette! This behavior is already implemented in the new configure grid color popup dialogue. This allows for more precise picking of colors around the edge of the palette (the ones I'm aiming for 90% of the time). I feel very strongly about this, and it is literally one of the first things I noticed when I started using C2 5 years ago. When Construct is described as a "tool for artists", it is especially noticeable.


I am not too sure I understand this. What do you mean by "allow for the picker to be constrained to the palette and continue picking even when the mouse is not over the palette". How can you pick a color if the pointer is not on top of the palette :?:

If you are having a hard time picking colors from the edges, you might want to try to expand the palette to the side to make it wider. You can do that by dragging the panel separator lines, the thick grey ones in between each of the panels. They aren't there for show only ;) If you hover the pointer on top of them, you will see that the cursor changes, indicating they can be dragged. This should make it easier to pick different colors. After you are done saving all the colors you are going to use, you can make the palette small again so it doesn't take so much space.

oosyrag wrote:A minor thing I think would be nice also would be to include one more row of swatches above the palette - a preset row of basic primary and secondary colors.


That doesn't sound too terrible :P

oosyrag wrote:A huge request would be layers and transformations with tweening support, but I understand that isn't exactly easy, so I'll leave it at that. But I will add that it's something I definitely missed coming from Flash. (Shoutout to Spriter here for saving the day!)


I am afraid both of those features exceed the scope of the Animations Editor.

It's primary function is to create and edit animations that the runtime can understand, import graphic files and edit properties which are specific to Construct such as image points and the various properties a frame and an animation can have.

Graphics editing, although the most noticeable, is the secondary function, and because of that we are not interested in trying to compete with far more competent software that has been available for years, and I am not even talking about Photoshop here. Tools such as GIMP or Paint.Net are freely available and are already leaps and bounds ahead of anything we can muster. Basically we are not trying to replace your favourite image editing program, because it would be a monumental waste of time ;)

I think that covers everything.
Scirra Employee
B
10
S
5
G
2
Posts: 147
Reputation: 2,356

Post » Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:49 pm

Thanks for the detailed response! You're my hero.

Just some perspective the interface is already most excellent, I'm really just nitpicking at whatever I can here...

For the color picker, maybe it is easier to explain visually.
Image
And here are Paint.net's and Gimp's pickers respectively:

ImageImage

It really isn't anything particularly important, I understand especially as you mentioned the graphics editor is a secondary feature. But again it was something that I definitely noticed right away.
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:18 pm

Ah, I get it now. I'll try to wedge that in at some point. I am all for the small improvements that don't seem like much by themselves, but when put together really make the difference.
Scirra Employee
B
10
S
5
G
2
Posts: 147
Reputation: 2,356

Post » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:56 pm

I found that arrow and lines for sub event still confusing to get aligned feels right.
ImageImage
B
105
S
46
G
23
Posts: 778
Reputation: 22,226

Post » Thu May 11, 2017 1:22 pm

Back button still kills the project without warning on Android. I'm assuming that will get fixed. Raising here as was raised in one of the previous posts in this thread.

Back button should close the current open menu window / dialogue box, or if there are none open should give a close project warning.

Also, sticking with android, it is mad annoying that the keyboard pops up every time I open a menu window as it blocks the selection. Leave the keyboard closed unless I deliberately select a text field

I'd love to test more on Android but I keep pressing the damn back button.....

Ps the preview button is currently 2 menus in from menu list. It should be directly under the menu list or even better on the main menu bar at the top. The preview button, for me, and I'm assuming most others, use is second only to save and so should have priority in the UI
...
B
44
S
23
G
7
Posts: 288
Reputation: 7,989

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests