Camera goes haywire when character switch form.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:37 pm

Message: Versanthus can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Hi, I'm working on a game that involve transformation. This is one of the issue I faced.

In Level 1. When the character transformed from human to fox. The camera just went all the way downwards. I tested out disabling/enabling [Scroll-To] on human/fox when transform but it does nothing.

I got this issue ever since I fixed the glitch of the character fly all over the screen when transforming. I fixed it by disabling and enabling collision of each form.

Game File:
https://www.mediafire.com/?y64a4aveobsqpua
B
7
S
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 401

Post » Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:33 pm

How are you following the character? System -> scroll to object?

Are the different versions of your character the same object just with different animation? Or are you suing two different sprites for each form?

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
84
S
34
G
40
Posts: 3,032
Reputation: 30,499

Post » Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:45 pm

@versanthus, I did a small correction in your events, I added a bookmark in the section

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B27TG57JCwl_XzdEUWZNNEN2UXM/view

I think you often duplicate items as new entities instead of instances of the same object which might be causing problems.

Hope it can help you.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:22 am

Message: Versanthus can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
FraktalZero wrote:@versanthus, I did a small correction in your events, I added a bookmark in the section

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B27TG57JCwl_XzdEUWZNNEN2UXM/view

I think you often duplicate items as new entities instead of instances of the same object which might be causing problems.

Hope it can help you.


Oh thank you but I couldn't access the G.Drive. I have sent a request.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 401

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:23 am

SoldjahBoy wrote:How are you following the character? System -> scroll to object?

Are the different versions of your character the same object just with different animation? Or are you suing two different sprites for each form?

~Sol


2 different sprite objects.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 401

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 8:41 am

And how are you following them?

System->scroll to object?

Are you trying to follow them both at the same time?

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
84
S
34
G
40
Posts: 3,032
Reputation: 30,499

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:56 am

SoldjahBoy wrote:And how are you following them?

System->scroll to object?

Are you trying to follow them both at the same time?

~Sol


I don't quite get you but:

-The character transform from Object A to Object B
-Object A player input is disabled, Object B player input is enabled
-Object A become invisible, Object B become visible
-Object A's collision is turned off, Object B's collision is turned on (The collision was causing a lot of glitches)

The camera is suppose to act like a standard platform's scroll to. But enabling/disabling Scroll-To function does nothing to fix it, at least the way I programmed it.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 401

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:36 pm

Should be ok now @Versanthus you can download the files
Your problem was maybe due to the fact that you had two sprites for the camera
camera and camera2 but for both the code was different.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:27 pm

FraktalZero wrote:Should be ok now @Versanthus you can download the files
Your problem was maybe due to the fact that you had two sprites for the camera
camera and camera2 but for both the code was different.


Much thank you and sorry... I checked the file. It was the same file as the one I posted. Nothing's changed. =(

I sort of understand, at the same time confused.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 401

Post » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:52 pm

I apologize, renamed and uploaded the wrong folder. I updated it with the change.

I tested it in the tutorial level and it was working fine. If you have issues don't hesitate.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests